We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
New Brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a conference and have stayed here every year for past few years. Never disappoints! Walk through skyway back and forth from hotel to DECC, easy and safe. Great parking and hotel stamps your ticket-so free. Extras: water cooler, water with lemons in lobby. Rooms have been reminded, quiet, clean, can't hear through walls. Professional staff. My only issue was one elevator was down during high traffic time and wifi was spotty in the room. Comfy bed, pillows and self controlled air/fan. Clean smelling and lots of outlets. Spacious room and lots of light. I have a hard time sleeping in hotels because of noise, but no issues here!

Room Tip: 7 floor or above you need your key card to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
23
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While we visited our child in the hospital we stayed at the Holiday Inn Hotel in downtown Duluth, MN.
It's a very nice full service hotel very close to Lake Superior in the midst of shops, restaurants with an old town/ young town feeling. There's a great Indian restaurant one block away.
The staff and management could not have been kinder or more helpful. We felt we were able to relax when we were between trips to the hospital. The clean rooms, beds, ventilation, room coffee, free parking- all excellent. The lobby had the biggest selection of snacks for purchase I've ever seen in a hotel.
Will definitely return.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babbitt, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent the past weekend here. The room was well appointed, good beds and clean. In checking in, I asked if we could get a late check out. The desk clerk was very accommodating, he looked on the computer and said it should not be a problem. He said I would have to let the front desk know as early as possible the morning of check out so there would be no problem. I was at the front desk at 6:45am and was told (in a very rude manor) I needed to be out by noon and no late check out today. I found most of the staff very friendly except this desk clerk. The disrupted our entire morning and I had to leave our meeting early. I'll have to think twice before staying here again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear gary c; Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I was happy to hear you liked your room, our beds, and the cleanliness of our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback! I'm very sorry that your late-checkout request was not honored and you felt one of our team members was rude about this. I apologize for this and will share your entire review with my team to make sure we communicate better. I know the day in question was a heavy group checkout day and heavy group check in day as well so that is why we were restricting late checkouts that particular morning. I apologize that at check-in that it wasn't relayed that it may be an extremely tough day for late checkouts because of the busy day. Again, I apologize how this transpired after you had a good stay. Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Recent wedding reception at the hotel for my daughter and her fiance. The experience was amazing. Starting with a great front desk staff, good size rooms which were very comfortable to the reception. The Holiday Inn ballroom is a great venue for a wedding reception. The staff is extremely helpful every step of the way, food was fantastic, and wait staff/bartenders are outgoing and have top notch customer service skills.

Room Tip: Loved the corner suite that we had. Very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I had my wedding reception down in the ballroom and everything about it was amazing! Brandon and Kirsten work with all the questions you have, make sure you aren't getting any surprises with pricing, and take the time to make it a night to remember. The staff who work in the ballroom with set up and serving are equally as amazing. Our guests commented on how tasty the meal and apps where. Having guests stay right up the stairs is a great plus! Can't speak highly enough of this hotel and staff! Thank you!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Hotel was very clean, had great pool and arcade areas for the kids, is in an excellent location for getting around downtown and a overall great value! The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. Woudl definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2015
Dear Andrew b, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and for staying with us. We appreciate the feedback and I will share your review with my team. Thank you again.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We haven’t been to Duluth for quite some time, and we usually stayed at simple little places outside of town, but this time we decided to stay in the heart of the city - at the Holiday Inn. Our stay at the Holiday Inn downtown made it the perfect getaway weekend. The view of the city from our room was amazing, and everyone working at the hotel was friendly and made us feel right at home. As one of our friends said, everything was clean, comfortable and cozy. There were so many great places to visit within walking distance of the hotel, from the Fitger’s Brewhouse Brewery, which is right on Lake Superior, to Canal Park, where we visited the lighthouse and ate at one of the many quaint restaurants on the harbor. Our only complaint was that we didn’t stay a couple more days. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.