We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey Date” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Ramsey, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hockey Date”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed here many times. Used to be nice & always enjoyed it. The last few stays have been sub par. Front desk staff is not the most friendly. Had a free room from the debacle of our previous stay. Met a young couple in the lounge who actually voiced the same complaint we had from previous stay. If you are looking to stay here, you do not want a room in the atrium near the pool. All kids & drunken adults. Extremely loud. Request the quieter portion of the hotel. Husband said this last time he doesn't care to stay here any longer. Parking is good & elevators are slow. The heat went out in our room & when restored was extremely loud.

Room Tip: Any room away from the pool!! Make sure it's clean - it's been sketchy the last few times we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
19
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We, Grandma, Grandpa, Dad, and 5 and 7 year old girls stayed one night when traveling from Northern MN to the twin cities. A good break with young children on a 300+ mile trip. We used both pools, and the restaurant. We had a suite that comfortably slept 6. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The noise level was quiet. The hotel shows its age, but overall it was a good value in a good location and more than meet our needs

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Keneh, Thank you for doing a review on our hotel and for staying with us at the Holiday Inn & Suites. It sounds like you and your family had a nice stay and you enjoyed our two pools, restaurants, and your room. I'm glad to hear that my staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I were looking to take a cheap getaway to Duluth, so we booked one night at Holiday Inn Downtown Duluth. It was a GREAT location, its connected to the walkway that leads to Canal Park. But that being said, we were on the 8th floor in a hallway next to the pool. Be wary, there is also a pool on the 3rd floor. Floor's 8-16 are "atrium" floors all open to the pool on 8th. The pool hours are from 8am-10:30pm, but some very loud drunk hot tub users woke us all up at 3am. Security took a whole hour to come kick them out of the closed pool. 8am came rather quickly, with hoards of screaming children having a blast at the pool. Would be nice if the pool opened at 9am perhaps. Hotel would be great for a family vacation or avid pool users who don't mind the loud echoing of everyone in the pool area.

Also, the ceiling in the shower was completely peeling off and moldy.

Next time we are looking for a bargain getaway to Duluth, we will be staying at the Raddison.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear ltracy08, thanks for staying with us recently and for filling out a review on your stay. I'm so sorry that the pool area was noisy during your stay. We make every effort to keep the pool area quiet between 10:30p-8a but it sounds like we had a couple of "gate jumpers" that our security team had to kick out that night. We take our guest service very seriously and we apologize that on this particular weekend we failed to give you a good nights rest. We are happy to hear you liked the indoor skywalk that led you to the bay front/canal area. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here a Saturday night at the end of January. Lots of kids and I believe it was most likely a hockey night in town. Common areas are worn and dirty. I have visited this hotel several times in the past and have always stayed in a king suite. The suites are nicely updated but the king room I had recently was not so nice. It appeared that there had been some updating done to the room but the window was very dirty and covered in white stuff (not sure what that was, perhaps dry wall dust?). The heater was extremely noisy. We were awakened at 1:15 am by screaming and hollering from the street below. Certainly not the hotel's fault but it was disturbing to wake up to. Good location right downtown.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear JustABeachBum58, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and I will share this review with my management team to research further some of the issues you had and I apologize for those. Could you email me at: gerry.goldfarb@hiduluth.com to let me know which room you had stayed in and to further discuss your stay? Again I apologize for the dusty room you had and the noise you had heard from the street below.

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed there 3 nights for a medical appointment. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They even mapped out where I had to go for our appointments. Super nice shuttle drivers and always on time. Great restaurants and shops right in the building. We were very happy with everything. Will be staying there again anytime we are in Duluth. Free parking also. Thanks Holiday Inn for making our stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: Every floor was quiet. I would stay on any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Pepsiface1941, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with our front desk staff and our shuttle drivers. We appreciate the positive feedback and we look forward to you staying with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We had a great stay again. Noticed they've even done more great things to the hotel since our last stay. My kids loved the market in the lobby for some late night snacks. I liked their large exercise room. Breakfast in Porters was good. Loved the pancakes! Kids ate free and they liked theirs too! Enjoyed Duluth, walked the indoor skywalk down to the pier and over to the canal area. Quick drive to spirit mountain for some sking too which was nice and then swimming and hot tub at night which was the perfect ending to the evening. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear GoTwins_Vikings, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel in Duluth. We appreciate the positive feedback and also thank you for staying with us!

We look forward to you staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydigital
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

My family and I travel to Duluth a few times a year and we always stay at the Holiday Inn. The location is ideal for us being downtown and close to a lot of the activities you can do in Duluth. The kids enjoy the two pools they have, when one is busy we move to the other. The recently renovated rooms are nice.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the pool if you are looking for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Dear Rydigital, Thank you for staying with us while you were in Duluth. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that your kids like our two pools that we have. Thank you for mentioning the suggestion to switch pools if one is busier than the other as I recommend that too which is a nice option to have having two pools. Thanks again for staying with us and for your review! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites - Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.