We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a great stay again. Noticed they've even done more great things to the hotel since our last stay. My kids loved the market in the lobby for some late night snacks. I liked their large exercise room. Breakfast in Porters was good. Loved the pancakes! Kids ate free and they liked theirs too! Enjoyed Duluth, walked the indoor skywalk down to the pier and over to the canal area. Quick drive to spirit mountain for some sking too which was nice and then swimming and hot tub at night which was the perfect ending to the evening. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
17
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rydigital
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family and I travel to Duluth a few times a year and we always stay at the Holiday Inn. The location is ideal for us being downtown and close to a lot of the activities you can do in Duluth. The kids enjoy the two pools they have, when one is busy we move to the other. The recently renovated rooms are nice.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the pool if you are looking for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Rydigital, Thank you for staying with us while you were in Duluth. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that your kids like our two pools that we have. Thank you for mentioning the suggestion to switch pools if one is busier than the other as I recommend that too which is a nice option to have having two pools. Thanks again for staying with us and for your review! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites - Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am staying in this hotel right now. It is almost 10pm and there are still kids running around in the corridor and SCREAMING, literally in capital letters. There are also people walking back and forth and talking extremely loud. I travel for work a lot and this is by far the noisiest place I have been to. Last night I had to keep the heating on, just so it creates some background noise and I don't hear everything happening outside. Very disappointing and stressful stay.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear TravelBip, Thank you for staying with us and for your review on your stay last Friday night. I am so sorry for the noisy experience you had during your stay at our hotel. We did have some hockey teams in our building which kept our security and guest services team busy and we make every effort to keep our corridors quiet with our 24 hour security and management team walking around. Please email me at gerry.goldfarb@hiduluth.com as I would like to know which room you were in and further discuss. Again, my apologies. Thank you again for staying with us!

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites - Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best customer service in town. We were on a last minute get away and decided to stay the night. I booked a hotel online and when I arrived I was shocked!!! The chain was under new owners and was no longer the chain I booked. I quickly called over to the Holiday Inn across the street and was greeted by an amazing young woman who was excited that I was excited they had rooms for us. We checked in and we were treated like royalty. I was quoted a rate on the phone then was given a special Canadian rate which was an awesome price. We had a spotless room with all the bells and whistles on the 8th floor pool side. (no extra charge) I was in heaven being an Executive Housekeeper cleanliness is my profession. We ventured out to Sneakers for some dinner and drinks and was amazed once again Brandon our waiter was impeccable. He not only served us but also gave us the "IN" on how the sky walks work and how we could go all the way to Canal Park in the warmth. (-35 that night). I have never had such a great experience as I did that night. So good I booked the hotel for another night and relaxed in the hot tub and pool. This Hotel is by far one of the best in Duluth.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear travler10_12, Thank you for the kind feedback and review on the service you were provided at our Holiday Inn and for staying with us while you were here in Duluth. I'm glad our front desk team was able to take good care of you and you enjoyed your dinner in our Sneakers restaurant and service from Brandon. We are happy you stayed an extra night too!

We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future. Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites - Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here poolside in December. Staying in December you have the advantage of this hotel being part of the skyway. This means you can get anywhere downtown or even to Canal park in the warmth of indoors. Unfortunately that is the best part of the hotel. The room walls are paper thin and you could literally have a conversation with some one outside your room without raising your voice. We had a poolside room which I wanted to change the minute we walked into our room, but were unable to. Plan on not getting any rest from no later than 8am through at least 10:30pm because there is always someone in the pool area and you can hear everything! The hotel and it's decor is dated, don't be expecting luxury. The other big complaint I would have is the elevators. There is 3 of them but they were so slow that half way through the first day their I found it to be much quicker to take the stairs and we were on the 9th floor. Overall I would recommend staying somewhere down in canal park over this hotel. Unless being downtown is a priority.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Clive Z, Thank you for your review of your stay and for staying with us. I'm so sorry that you didn't have a relaxing night at our hotel. Our two pool areas can be busy at times but we do want our guests to have a great stay and it sounds like it didn't happen while you stayed with us. Our security team does shut both pools down by 10:30 and we make every effort to ensure quiet time at night after that time. Again we apologize. Can you email me your name and number to: gerry.goldfarb@hiduluth.com as I would like to discuss your stay further. Thank you for mentioning how you liked that we are connected to most of downtown Duluth and the DECC via the skywalk system. Thank you again for staying with us and I look forward to hearing from you via email.

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here numerous times and although the rooms have been remodeled the rooms still had an outdated feel to them. This hotel is located downtown Duluth. The front desk staff is very professional and friendly. It seems that my luck always gets tested when I stay here. Last time I had what appeared to be a homemade bed frame that I had an issue with and this time the locking mechanism for my door ceased to work locking us out of the room. Again the maintenance and front desk work efficiently to gain is access but the locking mechanism needs to be replaced. I have not left yet today afraid that I will end up being locked out again.

If you come during hockey season be prepared (weekends) for a lot of young hockey players burning off energy in the halls. With slow elevators this may be an issue for you.

I do stay here when in Duluth as I use IGH properties whenever I travel to take advantage of their frequent traveler program This hotel is right in the middle of the hotels I have stayed.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Mike N, Thank you for staying with us while in Duluth and for taking the time to give us a review on your stay. I'm so sorry to hear you had an issue with your door lock during your stay. I'm glad to hear that our front desk and maintenance teams quickly resolved that for you as we do take guest service very seriously. Thank you again for staying with us and for using your IHG rewards card to stay at our IHG Holiday Inn property and the many others across the country. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had our family Christmas there and it could not have been better. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, house keeping was courteous and very helpful. Our room was large and clean. Kidd had a great time in the pool and parking wad great. This place is a gem in downtown Duluth!! Thanks to Matt and his staff!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
mdelamartre, Thank you for celebrating your family Christmas here at our hotel and for providing us with a review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments and I will share these with my team. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites - Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.