We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First of all, the hotel is pretty good. It's clean, with the typical Minnesota decor (I.e., hockey, ice, trees). The rooms are clean but shockingly small. Functional for business and not exactly conducive to relaxing. The stainless steel pools are a nice touch. The staff was average, not super friendly but not rude either.

The neighborhood really detracts from this hotel. It's a downtown hotel so you get the seedy crowd that is often present in cities. Duluth itself is pretty rough, in my opinion, and it really shows downtown.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
17
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Bay, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although freshly remodeled, not refurbished. Friendly, professional staff. Front entrance sketchy, a lot of questionable types hanging around. Garage not meant for large trucks. No place for a nice dinner. Lounge needs attention, remodeling and cleaning, manager watching TV, staff busy with regulars, off duty staff. Room was dusty, heater/ac needed cleaning. Seal on window failed, had to look out foggy window. Shuttle dropped me off, but failed to pick me up after calling front desk. Waited an hour at hospital, took cab back to hotel.

Good downtown location, with easy access to all downtown shopping and attentions.

Youth hockey players took over the place on Saturday, very noisy public spaces, pools packed.

Slow elevators.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dan M; Thank you for staying with us and for giving us a review on your stay. I'm very sorry for your experience you had during your stay at our hotel. I realize you are the gentleman who had me come up to your room and I hope you received my letter I left under your door as you had a "do not disturb" on your door when I returned to your room. But I did have my team immediately respond to your issues that day while you were gone except for the window that we are ordering. I want to again apologize for your room cleanliness and window being foggy. Again, I have addressed with my housekeeping team to ensure the areas you had pointed out are being focused on continually. Thank you again for pointing these out while you were here as we take cleanliness very seriously. I will also be addressing the restaurant comments immediately.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We appreciated the newly renovated room and the location of the Holiday Inn, and the good customer service, but that's about it. The parking garage is a tad confusing with an odd entry that had many people almost entering the wrong way and then many people completely blocking traffic. The elevators are VERY slow - the slowest I've ever encountered. We ended up with a King Suite and were hoping our toddler would be able to sleep on the sofa sleeper, but no such luck since we ended up being located right next to the extremely loud pool area. Thankfully the bedroom door was quiet with the door closed, but once you were in the living room, it was ridiculously noisy.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear ZephyrMarie, Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review on our hotel. I'm very sorry that your stay was not the best. I'm sorry that our parking ramp is confusing but that is due to our entrance being on a one-way street which changes how people enter and exit. We have many signs up at the entrance to our ramp but still some people miss those and enter on the wrong side. Also, I'm so sorry for the elevators being slow and our pool area being loud during your stay. I have shared your comments with my team as we are constantly striving to make all of our guest stays enjoyable and for ways to improve so we appreciate your comments and feedback. If you could email me at: gerry.goldfarb@hiduluth.com; I would like to further discuss your stay. Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed on the 16th floor with an awesome view of Lake Superior! It was a fantastic room, clean and well maintained. I also very much enjoyed the Keurig K-Cup coffee maker - much easier and more modern than the standard hotel coffee maker.

Room Tip: The higher up the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Aimie M, Thank you for staying with us and giving us a review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in one of our executive rooms on the 14th-16th floors that have the Keurig coffee makers! We hope to see you again soon! Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is located in the middle of downtown Duluth and many attractions are walking distance from the hotel. The skyway system will get you most places out of the weather in the winter. There is an attached parking ramp, parking is free for hotel patrons. Staff are helpful, there is free daily paper and Starbucks coffee in the lobby for guests.

A plus in my book, comfortable beds at the Holiday Inn compared to the highly over-rated sleep number air mattresses at the name brand competition hotel located just a few blocks further south.

My only complaint- Wifi speed in my room was abysmally slow. I needed to connect to complete some work and it took over 3 hours to do about 20 minutes worth of work. It appeared the connection was seriously overloaded by hotel patrons. Time for a serious upgrade....

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The ease of using the skywalk to the arena was great. If you have a full size truck the parking garage is not the that friendly. Also unloading your belongs is not the best . Not enough luggage carts. The pool in our area was very nice looking although we did not really had a chance to use it as it was fairly full all the time.The pool on the lower levels was less used it looked nice as well but I not see a hot tub ,does not mean there was not one. The room was pretty well as posted as in the pics they supply for viewing.The bath room needed a small repair at the ceiling but nothing major .If you have an agenda in the Canal Park area then this is one of the places to stay. It is a little pricey for what you get ,they should supply breakfast as many other hotels in that area do .

Room Tip: The rooms in the upper levels in the center core are a bit of a walk from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Tom k, Thank you for your review on our hotel and for staying with us! I'm glad you liked the indoor skywalk system we have here in Duluth that connects you with the DECC arena/canal area, and many downtown restaurants and shops. I'm so sorry to hear that we didn't have enough luggage carts available upon your arrival as we do have a large amount of them but some don't get brought down right away and I'm sorry for the inconvenience this caused. I wanted to mention that we also offer an over-sized parking area for larger trucks, if needed, for your next stay with us in our alley level parking area. Thanks also for mentioning our hotel having two pool areas, one on the 8th floor with a pool & whirlpool and one on the 3rd floor with a pool & kiddie pool. We look forward to you and your family staying with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel includes free parking and a convenient location downtown not far from UMD and St. Scholastica. Rooms are clean but nothing fancy ....pretty good square footage. At $83 I would select this over most other options .....get a good breakfast at the old school Uncle Louie's Café several blocks away via car

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.