We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first pick! Chris & Heather from Ashland, WI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Ashland, Wisconsin
1 review
“Our first pick! Chris & Heather from Ashland, WI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When my husband and I stay in Duluth our first choice is always Holiday Inn & Suites in downtown Duluth! We have never had a complaint while staying in this hotel. Our room is always nice and often upgraded! We love the convenience of this hotel to shopping, restaurants, and canal park! The staff is always nice and helpful. The last time we stayed at this location was November 7th-9th for an event called Gales of November that was occurring over at the DECC. We got a room on the 9th floor with a wonderful view of the canal and we were excited to be near the pool! We started staying at this hotel before they upgraded everything and while we enjoyed it then we continue to come back to this no complaint hotel every time!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
16
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for the first time this past weekend. We usually stay down in canal park but I am glad we decided to give this hotel a chance! The parking was convenient (ramp). It was connected via a skyway which had a number of great restaurants and shops. It was also walking distance from many other shops and restaurants in the downtown area. Check-in was smooth and the view from our 16th floor room was absolutely stunning of Lake Superior!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights in June. Location is perfect. It is pretty much walking distance to anything downtown. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. However, the room is very noisy due to the swimming pool that's right outside of the room. The pool is in the center and all the rooms are around it. Even though the pool closed at 10.30 but the nights we were there, a bunch of young people were drunk and yelling around the pool area until 2am or so. The hotel guard ended up calling the cops but we didn't get much sleep. The front desk were nice enough to give us some breakfast credits.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear sugarwawa,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, we’re sorry about the noise during our stay. We will loon into this concern. I assure you that the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came up for unfortunate hospital visit. Very impressed, clean rooms easy access to downtown n hospitals. No continental breakfast but very good restaurant downstairs and has a bar and grill, pharmacy. Free parking. Has plenty of shops within close proximity to hotel.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The town was booked but we were able to find the two bedroom suite we needed at the Holiday Inn downtown Duluth. What a pleasant surprise. The two room suite was on the 5th floor and was a quality room. this hotel has a pool in the center so we did get noise drift up to our room, but they close it at 10:30 pm to protect the sleeping hours. There was a small patio that had a view of the lake.

It is a large property so its indoor deck parking but is free. There is a spot to drop off and register.

Breakfast in the dining room was just great - do you believe eggs benedict over Wall Eye Pike! -great.

There were a couple of areas in our two bathrooms that could have been cleaned up better.

Personnel were helpful. Would use again

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cable, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

A friend and I stayed at this hotel during our yearly girls road trip. We requested a harbor view and we were amazed by the view!! It was absolutely breathtaking!! The staff were wonderful; very helpful in guiding us to a great place to have dinner, went out of their way to make us feel very welcomed, and it was nice to feel that we were being taken care of in every way. Our room was beautifully decorated, with the most comfortable beds of all the hotels we stayed at. The room was very clean, quiet, and we loved the guest convenience area in the lobby. We both wanted a little snack before bed, and were able to buy from a very nice selection of foods. All in all, this hotel deserves a huge thumbs up! We can't wait to stay again!

Room Tip: Harbor view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We were given an upgrade on arrival for being priority club members, this beats the obligatory bottle of water, received at many other Holiday Inns and very much appreciated. Found staff to be very accommodating and helpful. The restaurant and bar were excellent. All in all a great experience .Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.