We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for family” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in Duluth
St. Michael
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice for family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not exactly quiet on the inside. Clean, updated. Does quiet down after 9:30 or so, by the 4th floor pool. Good stay for a family if your just looking for a room for a couple of nights for an event in town. Pretty easy to get to right off Superior. The reason for the parking garage setup is because it's on a one way street, enter to the left so you don't cross traffic leaving the hotel. Didn't use any restraunts within the hotel as we brought our own for breakfast and lunch. It is a jaunt to canal park as far as walking, just make sure it's during the day. Only the top floors really have a view. Most of the shopping is by canal park rather than by the hotel. Bus stops a typical city, yes you're going to run into "questionable characters" but that's what makes it city right? There are a few right in front of the hotel so we just exited via parking garage. If you want to be near all the sights stay on canal park side but you will hear the boats as well. The front desk was welcoming and accommodating, didn't have any issues.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the view, but only a few rooms not sure which. Away from the pool for quiet as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
9
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
prior lake mn
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I hadn't stayed here for a couple of years and was pleasantly surprised with the updated room I stayed in. Fridge, microwave, sink and updated carpet was way better than last time I stayed. Slightly inconvenient to canal park but not bad walk through skywalk. Room was clean and staff were efficient. Cost was very competitive compared to Canal park options.

As others have noted, you better like being next to the pool if you have a poolside or near pool room as I was treated to one hour of post dinner full throated Marco Polo by what sounded like dozens of tweens. This was followed by another hour serenade by an unhappy 1 year old. Good times! I was thinking about hopping in the hot tub but couldn't bring myself to open the door and step out into the increased volume.

If I still had a kid in hockey or the like and came here for a tournament this would be great. As a business traveler, not so much.

Great spot for downtown or walk to DECC but not optimal location if your destination isn't downtown.

Last comment, it is a minor quibble and I know no one can remedy, but what were they thinking when they designed the parking ramp? I feel like I am in the figure 8 demolition derby when entering or exiting.

Room Tip: If you don't have kids, stay away from the pool. Noise is significant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really liked that the parking ramp was right at the hotel entrance. I really liked the rooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I was not, however, impressed with the check-in staff. I felt hurried even though there was not a line. Nice pools.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here one night because my son was registering for college. I love that you pull into the parking ramp and then enter the hotel from there. This would be great if it is raining or snowing. The lobby was nice and clean. Our room was up on the 8th floor, and the elevators seemed nice and quick. We have a view of the city though, not the lake. Two queen beds, nice sheets and pillows. The bathroom needs a good cleaning, and fan. Evidence of mold on the ceiling. The hotel has a little mall connected to it, that was nice for breakfast and a late night drink. I'll probably stay some where else when we move him in. I decided to try a different hotel each time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MB, Thank you for your review on our property and for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and comments. Yes we love our covered parking ramp especially if it rains or snows and also our Holiday center mall with our three restaurants and other stores. Thank you for bringing to our attention your bathroom ceiling; we are having our maintenance and housekeeping teams go room to room on that floor to check and clean any ceilings/fans that look dirty, etc.

Again, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back again soon.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn, Duluth. The Walk to Canal park is only a couple of blocks, and the weather was perfect. The last day it drizzled, so we walked the skyway instead! Location was wonderful! Everything you need is nearby. The front desk was awesome. They answered all our questions about restaurants and activities. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear shortyvaca, Thanks for staying with last week and for the review of our property and your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the skywalk to the harbor and canal. We look forward to your next visit!

Thank again,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites - Duluth MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights on a couples getaway which involved day trips to area attractions and plenty of night life. The hotel is in walking distances of the downtown bars and restaurants + Canal Park. The walk is interesting and at night we felt we needed to be vigilant of our surroundings. As for the property itself, the lobby is fairly small. Check in service was minimally friendly. The only restaurant we frequented was Porter's for breakfast. It was strangely laid out and dirty but the food was fairly decent. The rooms were the best part, they have been recently renovated. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and fairly modern. The price was a lot better than Canal Park hotels which were sold out 4 months in advance of our visit. Overall we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Canal Park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has two pools, one near the lobby, which does not have any rooms looking over it, and one on the 8th floor surrounded by an "atrium" of rooms. Unfortunately for us, we were on the 10th floor overlooking the pool. The noise was outrageous, with extremely young (and over tired) children screaming well past the 10:30pm pool time close, making it impossible for us to sleep. The hotel offering to move us to a quieter room at 10pm was nowhere near adequate. How about closing the pool at a more reasonable hour?? This was a terrible experience, and we will NEVER stay here again!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear TractorGirl800, Thank you for staying with us during your stay in Duluth. I apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay in our Atrium area. Our two pools are so popular and our guests love them that we've always had quiet time with the pools closing at 10:30pm as that has been the most preferred time when we've asked our guests staying with us previously. We've had many guests want us to stay open later (11p-12a) so we have tried to find a happy medium for all of our guests. Again I am very sorry for the noise you experienced during one of our very busy nights. We will look at this time recommendation again but we do have our 24 hour security team and a Manager on Duty close it down promptly at 10:30pm to ensure quiet time for all our guests. Thank you again for staying with us and providing your review.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.