We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here one night because my son was registering for college. I love that you pull into the parking ramp and then enter the hotel from there. This would be great if it is raining or snowing. The lobby was nice and clean. Our room was up on the 8th floor, and the elevators seemed nice and quick. We have a view of the city though, not the lake. Two queen beds, nice sheets and pillows. The bathroom needs a good cleaning, and fan. Evidence of mold on the ceiling. The hotel has a little mall connected to it, that was nice for breakfast and a late night drink. I'll probably stay some where else when we move him in. I decided to try a different hotel each time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
9
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn, Duluth. The Walk to Canal park is only a couple of blocks, and the weather was perfect. The last day it drizzled, so we walked the skyway instead! Location was wonderful! Everything you need is nearby. The front desk was awesome. They answered all our questions about restaurants and activities. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights on a couples getaway which involved day trips to area attractions and plenty of night life. The hotel is in walking distances of the downtown bars and restaurants + Canal Park. The walk is interesting and at night we felt we needed to be vigilant of our surroundings. As for the property itself, the lobby is fairly small. Check in service was minimally friendly. The only restaurant we frequented was Porter's for breakfast. It was strangely laid out and dirty but the food was fairly decent. The rooms were the best part, they have been recently renovated. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and fairly modern. The price was a lot better than Canal Park hotels which were sold out 4 months in advance of our visit. Overall we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Canal Park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel has two pools, one near the lobby, which does not have any rooms looking over it, and one on the 8th floor surrounded by an "atrium" of rooms. Unfortunately for us, we were on the 10th floor overlooking the pool. The noise was outrageous, with extremely young (and over tired) children screaming well past the 10:30pm pool time close, making it impossible for us to sleep. The hotel offering to move us to a quieter room at 10pm was nowhere near adequate. How about closing the pool at a more reasonable hour?? This was a terrible experience, and we will NEVER stay here again!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear TractorGirl800, Thank you for staying with us during your stay in Duluth. I apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay in our Atrium area. Our two pools are so popular and our guests love them that we've always had quiet time with the pools closing at 10:30pm as that has been the most preferred time when we've asked our guests staying with us previously. We've had many guests want us to stay open later (11p-12a) so we have tried to find a happy medium for all of our guests. Again I am very sorry for the noise you experienced during one of our very busy nights. We will look at this time recommendation again but we do have our 24 hour security team and a Manager on Duty close it down promptly at 10:30pm to ensure quiet time for all our guests. Thank you again for staying with us and providing your review.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed 3 nights.very friendly service, clean rooms and good location. The shuttle took us anywhere we wanted to go and picked us up from our destination.this was a great service. We parked the car for three days and either walked or shuttled. As well the trolley service stops right outside hotel and takes you to major attractions for 50 cents! It runs every half hour through most of the day. Breakfast was good and again very pleasant service.lots of shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Lovely city!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Loraine01, Thank you for your review of our hotel and for staying with us during your stay in Duluth. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you staying with us again. Thanks again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On August 5th I called the hotel and spoke to Kayla to help me pull of a birthday surprise for my husband. He was staying at this hotel while on business and I wanted to surprise him from Michigan. Kayla helped me order desserts from a local restaurant and have them sent up to his room along with a card. She was so friendly and helpful and it really made his birthday on the road a little better. I appreciate her and the rest of the staff's help and so happy that they went above and beyond to pull off a little birthday cheer! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Sarah G, Thanks for the nice review and comments with regards to your husbands stay with us this past week. I have shared your comments with Kayla and the rest of our team as we are always excited to get feedback like this and I'm so happy my team went above and beyond for you. Thanks again and I hope your husband stays with us again for his birthday but with you next time!

Sincerely,

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After staying at really nice Holiday Inns on a trip to LA, I was more that willing to reserve a room in Duluth, Mn at the Holiday Inn. The Checkin was OK. Receptionist talked a little fast for this AARP guy. Got to go right up to our room. Thought I was getting an upgraded room. Looked pretty standard in size. View of the Twin Ports was great. Could see between the two tall buildings to each side. Room was quiet and relaxing. Next morning when we went down for a light breakfast, the ala carte breakfast didn't have much to offer. Both in selection and sitting area. The whole area needs a make over big time. And a good dusting too. Whatever you do, don't look up by the street window!

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better. East side has the Twin Ports view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Randy S, thank you for your feedback and review of our hotel in Duluth. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your room. I'm so sorry that our restaurant, the Greener in the Holiday Center below our hotel on the 1st floor, didn't have much of a selection for you during your stay as they freshly bake a huge array of bakery items each morning and I know they can go fast on certain days! We also have our sit down restaurant Porters next door which offers a full breakfast and lunch menu for seated dining. I will definitely talk to my cleaning team to get the dusting done up on the street windows. Thanks again for the feedback and for staying with us in Duluth.

Gerry Goldfarb
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.