We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Last Minute Decision to Get Close to Fireworks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Last Minute Decision to Get Close to Fireworks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Waited too late for some of the more premiere spots for watching the spectacular Fourth of July fireworks display Duluth is noted for during the holiday. Not wanting to fight the traffic afterwards, but wanting to get up close to the harbor, a suite at the Holiday Inn Downtown was a great choice. Got in a swim and a pizza delivered by Sammy's (also a Duluth icon) and walked across the skywalk to the DECC and out to the water. Afterwards, an easy walk with the crowds back to the hotel, outside under the stars. Cozy bed waiting and no traffic to fight. Up when we wanted with breakfast and another swim. Perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Suite faced the iconic Aerial Lift Bridge which was lit up in red, white and blue for the holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
7
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The renovation seemed to be good. Only issues I really had was the loud air conditioner and the blinds weren't very dark or opaque. The area seemed a little of putting once you get out of the hotel entrance, but conveniently located.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear CharlotteMarie03,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. It is encouraging to know that our location and recent renovation was appreciated.

I apologize for any inconvenience you may experienced with the noise levels and lighting in the room assigned to you. We will certainly use your feedback towards our improvement so we can provide you with a more satisfying stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Holiday Inn and Suites in downtown Duluth has been the official hotel for my company's annual dealer training event for seven years. Hundreds of dealers travel from all across North America each year to attend and there have always been rave reviews from them regarding their hotel stay. The rave reviews have been even more pronounced this past May after the facility's new renovations and upgrades. The Holiday Inn and Suites has been a destination for our dealers due to the price, location, helpful staff and convenience due to their skywalk system to the Duluth convention center. As a result of the continued great experience at the Duluth Holiday Inn & Suites, I always make it a point to stay in Holiday Inn properties when I travel to other destinations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a corporate customer, we send many of our out of town guests to the Holiday Inn. We have not heard one complaint from our staff. They do like being close to downtown, the lake, lake walk, dining, etc. The renovations are excellent and the hotel looks great. I highly recommend this hotel for your saty in Duluth

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for Grandma's marathon. 2 nights cost $700, and that was the AARP rate! The normal rate for June is about $150 per night, so they really inflate prices for the marathon weekend. That was frustrating. The hotel is decent and they take very good care of the runners, with a special hospitality suite with snacks and drinks, closing the pool early to reduce noise, etc. It is very centrally located in Duluth and staff are extremely helpful. I didn't sample the food, so can't comment. It probably has a great view, but it was very misty while we were there, so we couldn't see much. One suggestion, given that they try to cater to runners, is to have rollers in the gym for marathon runners to use after the race.

Room Tip: High floor, away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear apaddyintexas,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always encouraging on our end to know that our hotel staff are appreciated and that we were able to take care of you during your recent stay.

It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our guest with our rates instead provide options that made sense. Nevertheless, I have taken note of your feedback and suggestions so we can provide you with a greater stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Holiday Inn and Suites Duluth Downtown was a great hotel and very accommodating. They recently finished an update and it looks fabulous inside. I myself had a room on the 16th floor which over looked the city and was clean, roomy and it was furnished modernly. The bed was fantastic...really comfortable.

Our agency had an event there and a large dinner for 350 people on the second night I was there. I for one have worked in the service industry and the wait staff at the banquet are great people and were superb in getting the tables served so quickly. My food was hot as well as cooked perfectly. For a banquet you would of thought the steak was cooked to order.

The staff I worked with for this event were extremely helpful and took the lead without difficulty. The staff did an oustanding job. Thank you all! I did not use the SPA facilities or the pool. But I did find out they have two pools in the building on two different floors.

We had a wonderful time and I hope you try the Holiday Inn the next time you are in Duluth, Minnesota. It's a great place to visit all year round in Minnesota. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: A friend of mine stayed in a pool side room and she said it was spacious and wonderful. Also the AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here before and were surprised when we walked into their lobby and saw a new lobby. They added a market convenience shop and a much larger fitness room now. My kids still love that they have two pools, one on the 3rd floor and one on the 8th floor I think. Hallways are much brighter than our last stay. Rooms are comfortable, new tile I noticed. rooms are brighter it seemed and I think their new blinds make a difference from the hotel shades we remembered. Front desk was very nice and our housekeeper was too. Had a good breakfast one day in their Greenery coffee shop and the second day at Porters which we all sat together so the kids could eat off the kids menu. We had a couple of cocktails in their other restaurant Sneakers sports bar which was nice. Watched a little World Cup there!! Well that's all I can think of, thanks for a nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.