We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanabi

Hanabi
110 N 1st Avenue West, Duluth, MN
218-464-4412
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 228 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Phone number (218) 464-4412 and email hanabimn@hotmail.com
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I really did not like sushi I had in other places, but when a friend invited me to go to lunch there, I imagined I could find something else to eat.

I went with my friend's sushi recommendations. It was so divine!

I cannot recommend it enough.

Parking is a hassle though

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great lunch and happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

cocktails are over priced. used to have a great bartender, professional, friendly made a solo happy hour fun. Sushi is excellent! compares above the most any where. prices very high. uni nigirii $14, ridiculous. most rolls are interesting but too mayo oriented. Sushi bar is unused and designed so that chefs are above you so you cant interact with chef or watch preparations. they have a server bring your sushi when you are seated at sushi bar. not the point right?

servers are not memorable. i used to go often sit at the liquor bar to have a sushi bar atmosphere as a solo diner. Duluth needs to serve individual diners better than it does. Hanabi should provide a better sushi bar experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good sushi. Best prices during lunch...sketchy neighbors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We enjoy the lunches here-- selecting the 3 sushi rolls (get to choose) for about ten dollars for lunch, pass on the miso soup. the salad is prepackaged lettuce with the wasabi dressing; both are easy to pass on--but the spicy crab rolls are very good and the eel rolls are enjoyed by my family whole wont otherwise eat eel!

Inside its dark and just okay for atmosphere, while outside the signage is lacking. And although the restaurant is a place I enjoy, I am not fond of the area orthe hillside parking. The place is out of the Main Street traffic on a one way street going up the hill--and across the street from the homeless hangout-- my family, who lives in Duluth, felt the area sketchy and didn't want to walk alone at night. That said, try it for lunch or happy hour and it is a better feeling in the neighborhood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Minnesota
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“You can get great Sushi in Duluth!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Love the Hamachi Carpaccio appetizer but it's too small (4 pcs). The Lollipop rolls are light, fresh and addictive (more of a small appetizer portion) and they are beautifully plated. Poison Spider Roll was excellent but the spicy crab on top was almost like an afterthought. The Spicy Maki Combo was excellent but not spicy. Still dreaming of the Queen Rolls--excellent sweet/spicy roll. There were two drawbacks for me. The ambiance is cold and seating is odd. We sat next to hostess stand and my bench seat was uncomfortable. The bathroom was not as clean as I had hoped and the toilet brush next to the toilet wasn't pleasant. But ultimately I am not complaining. I am planning my next visit for great Sushi in Duluth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good choice for a nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I went for a friend's birthday dinner, but I actually think it's better suited for a nice dinner date. The food was good, I had the spicy sushi combo. Our server was very nice. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanabi also viewed

 

Been to Hanabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.