We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can get great Sushi in Duluth!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanabi

Hanabi
110 N 1st Avenue West, Duluth, MN
218-464-4412
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 226 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Phone number (218) 464-4412 and email hanabimn@hotmail.com
Walker, Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“You can get great Sushi in Duluth!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Love the Hamachi Carpaccio appetizer but it's too small (4 pcs). The Lollipop rolls are light, fresh and addictive (more of a small appetizer portion) and they are beautifully plated. Poison Spider Roll was excellent but the spicy crab on top was almost like an afterthought. The Spicy Maki Combo was excellent but not spicy. Still dreaming of the Queen Rolls--excellent sweet/spicy roll. There were two drawbacks for me. The ambiance is cold and seating is odd. We sat next to hostess stand and my bench seat was uncomfortable. The bathroom was not as clean as I had hoped and the toilet brush next to the toilet wasn't pleasant. But ultimately I am not complaining. I am planning my next visit for great Sushi in Duluth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    32
    14
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good choice for a nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I went for a friend's birthday dinner, but I actually think it's better suited for a nice dinner date. The food was good, I had the spicy sushi combo. Our server was very nice. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Don't be discouraged by the neighborhood. The food is unforgettable. Lovely display, and very tasty.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Winter Roll: amazing flavor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I went to Namabi on a Thursday afternoon. We sat at the bar which was playing club dance music which was strange because it was the afternoon. I wouldn't have minded; however, such environment brought in an abnoxious group of college students. This is why I rated the atmosphere at a 3. The bar waiter was awesome though, he was very friendly, attentative and handsome and the food was amazing! I had the winter roll which had crab, avocado and cream cheese and then it's topped with spicy mayo and eel sauce. They run this through the broiler which makes the cream cheese and avocado super creamy and gives the sauces on top a warm texture! I have never had a roll that hit all the pleasure centers in my mouth so perfectly! I think the key was the broiler! we also had hot saki and a couple beers- nothing to note there! Overall great experience and I certainly would go back! I would suggest different music at the bar to create better ambiance and traffic flow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to go with friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had the pleasure of experiencing Hanabi for the first time a little over two weeks ago. I must say it is a place I would visit again. The food there was to die for and the atmosphere is just right. A Very vibrant place that can get very loud.

The spicy Tuna on was very good. I was more intrigued with what was on top and it was a foam that incorporated wasabi into it. (very interesting to eat to say the least)

A must to get is the Plum Wine. We ordered Choya Plum wine and it was a real treat. It is slightly strong, but a great addition to the meal none the less. It also comes with plums in the bottle that are strong and really fun to watch people eat.

Enough of me typing check out the pictures to see what YOU are missing! once again Hanabi is a place one should visit with friends and couples.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.