We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Smoked Meats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Waters Smokehaus

Northern Waters Smokehaus
394 Lake Avenue South, Suite 106, Duluth, MN 55802
+1 218-724-7307
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Eclectic, Sandwiches
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Smoked Meats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Of course we checked this place out, as it was on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. All of the smoked meat was really good, as was the service. As others have said, there really isn't much seating available at the restaurant, so we got our sandwiches to go and took them back to our hotel patio and ate on the lake front. It made for a very nice dinner!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    42
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy Lunch!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped here for a lunch break and were pleasantly surprised with delicious sandwiches. The turkey was tasty and the whole sandwich was excellent. This is a must-stop for a quick lunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On our way to the Gunflint Trail, we detoured through Duluth to grab lunch. This place was well worth the side trip. Very friendly service coupled with amazingly tasty sandwiches. The sandwich menu is full of great choices, so I can't wait to go back to try another. Good selection of deli items and sodas make this a good grab and go option. We took our order to go and had a quick lunch at the Superior boardwalk area a few hundred yards away. Looking forward to the next visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Tiny Place, Delicious Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went there before noon on a recent Sunday and left before ordering because there was no place to sit and we had a 4 year old with us. There is very limited seating in this tiny restaurant. We went back the next day and got sandwiches to take up to Split Rock Light House state park. The sandwiches were delicious. I would definitely go back. Our favorite was the Pastrami Mommy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“AMAZING sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We picked up sandwiches for a picnic at Point Park. It was around lunch time so the small deli (that was a bit difficult to find) had a fairly long line. We were happy to see the line moved quickly! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I ordered the Cold Turkey, my husband got the Big Dipper and our son got smoked trout. They also have bags of kettle chips and frozen items (scones, meat, etc.) you can purchase. The smoked flavor in my sandwich was so perfect and like nothing I have ever had. The mayo had craisins and other amazingly delicious seasoning - if only they bottled that stuff for me to take home! The bread can make or break a sandwich in my opinion, and this bread was was a major success. I had fresh, chewy ciabatta bread and wouldn't change it for anything. Now if only they would open another deli location in the town I live in, life would be much better!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Waters Smokehaus also viewed

 

Been to Northern Waters Smokehaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Waters Smokehaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.