We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwater Lounge

Blackwater Lounge
231 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
218 740 0436
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Black Water Lounge is Duluth's premiere martini lounge. With a full bar, hand-crafted cocktails, exquisite lounge food, live jazz music and lady's night, Black Water is the finest upscale martini bar in the Duluth-Superior area. Black Water Lounge is located in Duluth's Old Downtown and was once the home of the Black Bear Lounge in the historic Greysolon Plaza. Host an event at Black Water's Manhattan Room - perfecy for Anniversary Parties, Engagement Parties, Birthdays & Corporate Gatherings! Rent the entire lounge on a Sunday for your larger group!
Bartlett, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Blackwater has a great atmosphere and friendly staff while still having a sophisticated yet casual vibe. Nice place to have some drinks and unwind.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Black Water Lounge. We greatly appreciate your feedback and comments. Our entire staff looks forward to having you back at the lounge again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    28
    20
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This establishment is always fun to come to. They have great service and food. Bathrooms, however, could use more regular cleanings. But I will continue to visit this lounge...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at Black Water Lounge again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermantown, Minnesota
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The atmosphere is a lot of fun, and the service was great. Black water is a great place to go for a night out on the town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you at Black Water Lounge again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We only came for drinks and to hear the jazz. The drink menu was amazing, the service was very attentive (and rather sexy, if the guys want that) and the ambiance was seductive. It's nice that Duluth can support a swanky jazz lounge like this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you at Black Water Lounge again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devils Lake
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Prime Rib -yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went for an early dinner, salads were ok, prime rib was delicious! The boyfriend was jealous of my meal (the prime rib) when he had the steak and shrimp pasta. His steak was VERY peppery and the shrimp was very fishy and not good. Other than that the service was good and we had an enjoyable time.
Not a pertinent stop -spendy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you at Black Woods again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackwater Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Blackwater Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwater Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.