We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great martinis, service is...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwater Lounge

Blackwater Lounge
231 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
+1 218-740-0436
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 231 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Black Water Lounge is Duluth's premiere martini lounge. With a full bar, hand-crafted cocktails, exquisite lounge food, live jazz music and lady's night, Black Water is the finest upscale martini bar in the Duluth-Superior area. Black Water Lounge is located in Duluth's Old Downtown and was once the home of the Black Bear Lounge in the historic Greysolon Plaza. Host an event at Black Water's Manhattan Room - perfecy for Anniversary Parties, Engagement Parties, Birthdays & Corporate Gatherings! Rent the entire lounge on a Sunday for your larger group!
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great martinis, service is...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I often come to BW for a drink with friends for $5 martinis and half-off sushi on Thursdays. This last Thursday it was a total nightmare, however. They had a private party booked for the upstairs and a gentleman was running around with a notepad stuffed in his suspenders, trying to take a seating list. Once we got seated, we literally had to chase down our waitress and it took over an hour to get our sushi.

I think BW should consider staffing extra on Thursday, as it makes for a more pleasant experience for the guests. Obviously, they were busy and that is a good thing. I'm just saying, plan ahead next time!

My favorites are the Lavender martini, or the Ol' blue eyes. I think they took it off of the menu but you can still order it. :)

And...I just tried to call them and ask a question and no one answered. They opened a half hour ago, so someone should be there?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your business to Black Water Lounge and hope to have you back again soon. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff to ensure only the best experience when you are dining with us. Thank you for your feedback!

Best Regards,

Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events
New London Corporation - Black Woods, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods & Black Woods Catering
katiem@blackwoods.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Thursday night specials for the win!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I only go here for the Thursday night sushi specials, it's a steal. The sushi menu is short, but they aren't exactly a sushi place, either. They have some very unique "rolls" that are worth experimenting with. The drink specials are killer, too, and they have some fantastic martinis and cocktails.

This joint is a little bit more upscale than most other places in Duluth. There's a minimal dress code, so be prepared to take your hat off, at the least. This place gets busy, and service suffers from it, but it's certainly not bad enough to keep you away.

The dark, cool lounge feel is also very unique for the area. It's a fun experience, to say the least, and on Thursday nights you can have a yourself a great night at a really good price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again for our Ladies Night on Thursdays!

Best Regards,

Katie Marturano
Marketing Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom & Black Woods Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtrum, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best sushi and martinis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Blackwater Lounge is one of my very favorite places in Duluth. Every Thursday night is Ladies night which means all martinis are $5! I have tried several different drinks there and so far my favorite has to be one of their newest menu items, a cucumber basil gimlet (made with vodka). That is very refreshing and not sweet at all (I do not favor heavy or sweet tasting mixed drinks). They also have a terrific menu that includes a nice selection of sushi. I have had other foods off the menu, and all are delicious (the flatbreads are amazing!) but the sushi is by far my favorite. Another favorite menu item is their chocolate dessert fondue. HEAVEN! And of course it is something you must share with your favorite someone. :)

The atmosphere at Blackwater is very welcoming. You can sit in the bar area or choose a table by the piano (they always have great music!) OR you can choose to sit upstairs where they have big chairs and comfy couches-it is also quieter up there, if you prefer that to the piano/main seating area.

The staff is always super nice!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! We greatly appreciate your business to Black Water Lounge!

Best Regards,

Katie Marturano
Marketing Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods Restaurants, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom By Black Woods, Black Woods Catering
katiem@blackwoods.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice upscale lounge live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

This is only uppscale place I know of in Duluth. Good well dressed staff. Live musuc. Good happy hour. A bit more expensive. Martinis. Food is OK

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing & Events Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods Restaurants, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods & Black Woods Catering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classy Jazz Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love this place! It is a romantic, classy, upscale jazz bar. A perfect place to meet your co- workers for an after work drink! The martinis are fabulous and so is the sushi. With specials like Ladys night and $5 martinis who wouldn't want to stop by for an evening out!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing & Events Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Black Water Lounge! We greatly appreciate your patronage to our local business. Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events for New London Corporation - Black Woods Restaurants, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods, Black Woods Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackwater Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwater Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.