We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to ride on train, but not to scenic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore Scenic Railroad

North Shore Scenic Railroad
506 West Michigan Street, Duluth, MN 55802
+1 218-722-1273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 82 things to do in Duluth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive on the Lakefront line of the North Shore Scenic Railroad! During our summer season several trains a day depart the historic Duluth Union Depot for a trip through downtown Duluth, Canal Park, along the shore of Lake Superior and deep into the majestic north woods. Fully narrated tours tell the history of Duluth, the harbor, and the stories of the railroads that built northern Minnesota and Wisconsin.
Willmar, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun to ride on train, but not to scenic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We took our 6, 4 & 1 year old on this ride. You really couldn't see around alot of the trees and you got to look into peoples back yards (which I wasn't expecting). It was okay to do 1 time, but I do think its a one time thing to try.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    25
    19
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“LOVE IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Every trip to Duluth in the summer brings us to the trains. Our family loves the museum, and we all enjoy taking the train. We really adore waving out the baggage car doors at the people on the Lake walk.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“3 events, all amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Parking the 1st time or two can be a bit messy here... but we've got the hang of it now. Desk staff friendly and helpful, everything runs well, organized. Signs, plentiful staff, etc.

Depot area is great, events (thomas, pumpkin train, etc) are worth the money

we look forward to boarding the train again soon!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Take the longer trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've been on this train twice, and it's quite a treat, especially for rail fans! The engine is beautifully restored in the striking Duluth Missabe maroon and yellow paint scheme, You travel in a wide variety of coaches - every one is different! It's like riding in the early Amtrak "rainbow consist" of cars! A favourite one to ride in is the double decker car, but I find that the standard cars are more comfortable. They offer two excursions - a long one and a short one. The long one takes you to Two Harbours. The short one stops in the middle of nowhere and goes back to the station. The short trip is pleasant, but you miss so much of the beautiful Lake Superior scenery, not to mention the town of Two Harbours (which is quite a treat in itself). If you have the time, take the longer trip - you won't regret it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Average at Best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family rolled into the gorgeous town of Duluth last August on our summer road trip, and we were all really excited about our Lester River train tour with North Shore Scenic Railroad, which we had booked well in advance. As it turns out, it was a sub-par experience and the worst thing we did during out stay in Duluth. The train goes really slowly, and never leaves Duluth. Much of the ride is in the middle of residential Duluth, and not by Lake Superior as expected. The Lester River Gorge is an insignificant little canyon running through the city. The train ride was around one and a half hours long, and that was with a ten-minute delay for it to switch tracks. It was extremely crowded, mainly with loud children. We were waiting for the end the whole time. Duluth is an absolutely spectacular city, and your time here would be much better spent pretty much anywhere else. I'd personally recommend spending most of your time in Canal Park, as the Aerial Lift Bridge is a fantastic sight, and the park contains enough attractions, restaurants, and accommodations to enjoy a happy stay there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Shore Scenic Railroad also viewed

 

Been to North Shore Scenic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore Scenic Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.