We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but that's about it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge

JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge
505 W Superior Street, 16th Floor, Duluth, MN 55802
+1 218-727-8439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 200 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Superior St and 5th Ave W
Description: Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes. Executive Chef, Ryan Zander, has created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen. Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
Fulda
Level Contributor
164 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great view but that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went on a Saturday night hoping for great jazz, great views and great food. One of the 3 is all we could manage! No jazz the first weekend of October due to budget cutting and trying to sell the restaurant. It would appear they are also cutting staff because while our poor waitress worked her tail off she could not keep up and the service was slow. Not a huge deal since we were there to make the one hour trip around anyway. Sad to say it went about 3/4 around then stopped so my view was a pole. Drinks and appetizer was a far as we could go then we called it a night and went to elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa S, Manager at JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear Jim S,

We appreciate your review on JJ Astor. The restaurant does in fact have new owners and would love for you to return and enjoy everything we have to offer. Please contact me directly so we can make your next visit the best! Alyssa.schwanke@radisson.com

Best,
Alyssa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    55
    17
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southbridge MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun, revolving restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Surprised at the quality of this restaurant after walking through a hotel lobby undergoing a messy renovation. Loved the slow rotation of the place; not enough to cause sickness but just enough to get a full view of the city a couple of times. Food was really good (I had the duck) and the service was attentive. Best of all was the shared dessert - heavenly. Good choice for night out in beautiful Duluth

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisswa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Thought it was going to be just another tourist trap, but was super pleased. Service, food just perfect. It had been 20+ years since we had been here and didn't expect much. What a surprise! We both had steak and they were prepared exactly as ordered. A little spendy for up North but well worth it. Try the spicy Pecans for a starter...very good

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slayton, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burnt French Toast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Service was bad, waiters and waitresses fighting over tables, waited too long for our food, restaurant was gross, pancakes and French toast came burnt.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa S, Manager at JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear Chantelle S,

Thank you for taking time to review JJ Astor. We have in fact gone through some culinary changes and are in the process of reiterating our standards of service. Please contact me directly to make your next visit with us great. Alyssa.schwanke@radisson.com

Regards,
Alyssa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere, simply amazing; no trip to Duluth is complete without a sunset dinner at JJ ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Simply a perfect evening. Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere, simply amazing; no trip to Duluth is complete without a sunset dinner at JJ Astor. Thank you, Cindy for a lovely evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.