We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, revolving restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge

JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge
505 W Superior Street, 16th Floor, Duluth, MN
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Superior St and 5th Ave W
Description: Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes. Executive Chef, Ryan Zander, has created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen. Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
Southbridge MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun, revolving restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Surprised at the quality of this restaurant after walking through a hotel lobby undergoing a messy renovation. Loved the slow rotation of the place; not enough to cause sickness but just enough to get a full view of the city a couple of times. Food was really good (I had the duck) and the service was attentive. Best of all was the shared dessert - heavenly. Good choice for night out in beautiful Duluth

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    53
    31
    12
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nisswa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Thought it was going to be just another tourist trap, but was super pleased. Service, food just perfect. It had been 20+ years since we had been here and didn't expect much. What a surprise! We both had steak and they were prepared exactly as ordered. A little spendy for up North but well worth it. Try the spicy Pecans for a starter...very good

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slayton, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Burnt French Toast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Service was bad, waiters and waitresses fighting over tables, waited too long for our food, restaurant was gross, pancakes and French toast came burnt.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere, simply amazing; no trip to Duluth is complete without a sunset dinner at JJ ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Simply a perfect evening. Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere, simply amazing; no trip to Duluth is complete without a sunset dinner at JJ Astor. Thank you, Cindy for a lovely evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Food and View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We last visited this establishment when two of our now teens were little (5 & 9 yrs old). Our kids get a huge kick that the restaurant rotates and you can see everything in and around the Duluth Harbor area! You will not be disappointed with the food! We shared menu items, Walleye Sandwich, Chicken Sandwich, and Smoked Brisket Poutine. Walleye sandwich - a very nice sized portion of fish, and the baguette didn't overtake the fish! Nicely seasoned as well! Chicken sandwich - very juicy, nicely done! Smoked Brisket Poutine - very different and delicious! French fries on bottom, layered with small fried cheese curds, smoked brisket, and covered in a light white gravy. So tasty!! Our little girls had hamburger(comes with cheese), very juicy and delicious. Popcorn shrimp - not too breaded(we had a little taste). Lastly, an egg and bacon with side of fruit. All the food was suburb! Our server was sweet and delighted with our little ladies(3, 6, 7, with one teen 14). All their seats are window seats : ). They also were happy to take reservations over the phone, but at our particular visit - for lunch, we would have been able to get in without one. Highly recommend!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.