We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge

JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge
505 W Superior Street, 16th Floor, Duluth, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 230 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Superior St and 5th Ave W
Description: Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes. Executive Chef, Ryan Zander, has created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen. Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
Nisswa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Thought it was going to be just another tourist trap, but was super pleased. Service, food just perfect. It had been 20+ years since we had been here and didn't expect much. What a surprise! We both had steak and they were prepared exactly as ordered. A little spendy for up North but well worth it. Try the spicy Pecans for a starter...very good

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    14
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Slayton, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Burnt French Toast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Service was bad, waiters and waitresses fighting over tables, waited too long for our food, restaurant was gross, pancakes and French toast came burnt.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa S, Manager at JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear Chantelle S,

Thank you for taking time to review JJ Astor. We have in fact gone through some culinary changes and are in the process of reiterating our standards of service. Please contact me directly to make your next visit with us great. Alyssa.schwanke@radisson.com

Regards,
Alyssa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere, simply amazing; no trip to Duluth is complete without a sunset dinner at JJ ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Simply a perfect evening. Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere, simply amazing; no trip to Duluth is complete without a sunset dinner at JJ Astor. Thank you, Cindy for a lovely evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Food and View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We last visited this establishment when two of our now teens were little (5 & 9 yrs old). Our kids get a huge kick that the restaurant rotates and you can see everything in and around the Duluth Harbor area! You will not be disappointed with the food! We shared menu items, Walleye Sandwich, Chicken Sandwich, and Smoked Brisket Poutine. Walleye sandwich - a very nice sized portion of fish, and the baguette didn't overtake the fish! Nicely seasoned as well! Chicken sandwich - very juicy, nicely done! Smoked Brisket Poutine - very different and delicious! French fries on bottom, layered with small fried cheese curds, smoked brisket, and covered in a light white gravy. So tasty!! Our little girls had hamburger(comes with cheese), very juicy and delicious. Popcorn shrimp - not too breaded(we had a little taste). Lastly, an egg and bacon with side of fruit. All the food was suburb! Our server was sweet and delighted with our little ladies(3, 6, 7, with one teen 14). All their seats are window seats : ). They also were happy to take reservations over the phone, but at our particular visit - for lunch, we would have been able to get in without one. Highly recommend!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love My City By The Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wanted to try the new restaurant formerly known as the Top Of The Harbor at our old stomping grounds, Radisson Duluth Hotel. The view itself makes it worth the trip. Went for brunch. Nice menu selection...prices not bad...food quality not the greatest. Tried the Smoked Brisket Poutine. Lots of potatoes but very little meat and the gravy was lukewarm. Menu description made it sound better than it was. Chicken sandwich a little dry also. But the desserts surely made up for it. The Lemon Curd Torte and the triple scoop ice cream selection were delicious. Would possibly go back when I get to Duluth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.