We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge

JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge
505 W Superior Street, 16th Floor, Duluth, MN 55802
+1 218-727-8439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 200 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Superior St and 5th Ave W
Description: Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes. Executive Chef, Ryan Zander, has created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen. Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had breakfast here, nice how restaurant revolves so you get a good view of the city. Food was good and reasonably priced. Would be fun to try at night to see the city lights.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    55
    17
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paynesville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a view, unique restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The floor rotates so you see a panoramic view of Duluth. Service was excellent, late night food was delicious.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Revolving restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We ate here because we wanted to visit the revolving restaurant. The views are great and that made it fun. The service was very good, the food was good, but it was quite expensive. We had dinner so we could Duluth at night - perhaps breakfast would have been a better price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We came in with family from out of town for Bluesfest. Cindy, our waitress, was absolutely fantastic and made the whole dining experience very enjoyable! What a fun night. Compliments to the chef as well - the cinnamon rubbed sirloin was delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, drinks, service and scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The menu was to the point, we started with the perfectly prepared scallops, it was refreshing and light with the hollandaise orange sauce! My boyfriend and I split the pecan crusted walleye with mashed potatoes and vegetables! Great portions to split, and our server Tyler was knowledgable and very attentive! Definitely will be returning customers :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.