We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge

JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge
505 W Superior Street, 16th Floor, Duluth, MN 55802
+1 218-727-8439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 197 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Superior St and 5th Ave W
Description: Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes. Executive Chef, Ryan Zander, has created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen. Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We didnt want to leave the hotel for breakfast so we decided on this place on the roof of the Radisson Hotel. It has breathtaking views of Duluth and it revolves 360 degrees every hour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    52
    17
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baraboo, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good view average food & service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went to this for an anniversary dinner. We were seated promptly (the restaurant was not took busy). The views are good and since we were visitors to the area it gave us a good overlook of the city. Had to ask the waitress if there were any special offerings for the evening. Which there was only one (an appetizer) I had a steak my wife had salmon both meals were fair portions but average on taste and preparation. I would recommend to order a drink from the lounge and sit at a lounge table for the view. The meal for two was over $100 and we each had only 1 glass of wine and no dessert.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I have back three different times and every year has been great. This year was know exception. The food was wonderful and the service was even better. We would highly recommend JJ Astro.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great service, food was mediocre, view awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Worth the trip, just a unique experience. Staff was great, music was very enjoyable, service for food was fast.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Server was a joy, the rotating seating area delightful, the food fantastic, and I really appreciated being able to eat in the lounge since I didn't have a reservation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJAstor_12, Manager at JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Michelle K~
Thank you for writing about your dining experience at JJ Astor! We always love to receive guest feedback. The Lounge at JJ Astor is the perfect spot to eat when the restaurant is full and we are glad that we could accommodate you during Tall Ships Week. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.