We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, food was mediocre, view awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge

JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge
505 W Superior Street, 16th Floor, Duluth, MN
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 228 restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Superior St and 5th Ave W
Description: Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes. Executive Chef, Ryan Zander, has created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen. Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great service, food was mediocre, view awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Worth the trip, just a unique experience. Staff was great, music was very enjoyable, service for food was fast.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    59
    37
    12
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Server was a joy, the rotating seating area delightful, the food fantastic, and I really appreciated being able to eat in the lounge since I didn't have a reservation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJAstor_12, Manager at JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Michelle K~
Thank you for writing about your dining experience at JJ Astor! We always love to receive guest feedback. The Lounge at JJ Astor is the perfect spot to eat when the restaurant is full and we are glad that we could accommodate you during Tall Ships Week. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Excellent manager and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our reservations at the restaurant were part of a special trip with my parents. We had two meals there, and Kirsten, the restaurant manager, made certain that we had a great spot to view the Tall Ships. Zach and Joanne, our servers, were both cheerful and accommodating, sharing information about the surroundings and the festival and setting aside a dessert for my mother to take to her room when the restaurant closed. We couldn't have asked for nicer treatment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food was magnificent, The 360 degree sky-view was delightful. We had a wonderful server very friendly. We absolutely loved the desserts. A must see and eat experience in Duluth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Restaurant at the top of a hotel. Not a new idea. But this one rotates as you eat. It did about 1.5 rotations during our dinner. Fun to watch the changing scenery.

Food was good, service was okay. Not special but not bad either. But go for the view.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.