We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent manager and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge

JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge
505 W Superior Street, 16th Floor, Duluth, MN 55802
+1 218-727-8439
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 199 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Superior St and 5th Ave W
Description: Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes. Executive Chef, Ryan Zander, has created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen. Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Excellent manager and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our reservations at the restaurant were part of a special trip with my parents. We had two meals there, and Kirsten, the restaurant manager, made certain that we had a great spot to view the Tall Ships. Zach and Joanne, our servers, were both cheerful and accommodating, sharing information about the surroundings and the festival and setting aside a dessert for my mother to take to her room when the restaurant closed. We couldn't have asked for nicer treatment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    50
    15
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food was magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food was magnificent, The 360 degree sky-view was delightful. We had a wonderful server very friendly. We absolutely loved the desserts. A must see and eat experience in Duluth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Restaurant at the top of a hotel. Not a new idea. But this one rotates as you eat. It did about 1.5 rotations during our dinner. Fun to watch the changing scenery.

Food was good, service was okay. Not special but not bad either. But go for the view.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
“Sumptous dining and magnificent view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were greeted as soon as we got off the elevator by friendly staff and a Superior view.
There was background music that was not intrusive, but it set the tone for a delightful surprise.
We shared the 360 degree sky-view with soaring gulls. Cindy soon came to take our first requests with a sunny smile and warm greeting. Dinner was incredible! Lamb, New York Strip to perfection, tasty soup, creative sides, and fresh, warm bread was followed by delicate deserts.
Applause to the Chef! All tables are next to the window on the gently rotating dining area...always a new view of lake, harbor and skyline. Fulfilling experience. Soon to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“a night to remember with dinner, music, and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good servers and waitresses like our Candace Saturday night July 6th make everything special and couples and families that we saw near our booth. The slow circling around to see the lights of Duluth and Twin Ports harbour were nice along with the music of the 3 some Bowers group with John Thorene and his fun 2 partners that played the TN Waltz for our 30th anniversary!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJAstor_12, Manager at JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am thrilled to read your glowing review of our JJ Astor Server, Candice, as well as the kind words regarding your overall experience in both the Bowery Bros. and JJ Astor. We are so happy to have been a part of making your 30th Anniversary memorable. We look forward to seeing you for your 31st Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.