We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel with a good breakfast buffet and an evening social event Tues-Thurs. Room includes kitchen area. Location was within minutes of downtown Duluth and even closer to major shopping areas. The pool was closed for maintenance but we didn't plan on using it anyway. The only complaint we had was that the bed was too firm for us.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and it was very quiet. Might want to see if you can request a differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    25
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
49
5
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rush City, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice stay after a long drive in Minnesota. We loved the coldness; and the view of Lake Superior made our stay even more delightful! We have now seen all the Great Lakes! Duluth is a nice town and this hotel was extremely nice for a small town. Very nice attentiveness to their customers and an nice breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here's why this place is so great:
- super quiet rooms
- impeccable service
- clean and modern decor
- excellent continental breakfast

There's really nothing to gripe about. I especially love the lobby layout at breakfast; you don't feel like you're stepping all over people.

Keep up the great work!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I'm writing this on the 2nd of a 4 day stay because this hotel is so close to perfect that I didn't want to wait to review it. It's 4 years old, and everything is clean! I mean, really really clean. My room - a studio king- is extremely well designed. It contains a compact, well-thought out kitchen, floating shelves, a couch and armchair I'm not afraid to sit on, a flat screen TV mounted on a platform that turns 360 degrees and can be viewed from anywhere in the studio, and a separate bed area. The hot breakfast was very good, and included sausage patties, hash browns, scrambled eggs, along with the usual fare. Coffee was excellent. I am very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, December 7, 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words.

We hope that the last couple of days were as good as the first two!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott - Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

From the minute you walk through the door you feel at home. Great check-in experience! Rooms were spacious and decorated well. Love the dressing rooms separate from the bathtub and toilet. Stove, fridge, microwave, and dishwasher in the kitchenette laundry on the main floor pool, whirlpool and workout room. Nicest breakfast staff I've ever met! Anything we asked for was provided and with a smile and no problem. Love this place!

Room Tip: Main floor was very quiet even by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, December 7, 2014
Thank you for your great review.

We love our staff and are elated to hear that you did too!

We hope that the next time you're in town we'll have the chance to serve you again!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott - Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Wonderful location with excellent staff, clean rooms and the best shower ever!!!!! We stayed here for 3 nights over American Thanksgiving and would stay again. Good hot complimentary breakfast. Very close to the mall, restaurants and department stores.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the suite with the fireplace!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, December 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!

We hope that your Black Friday shopping went well - it's certainly always an exciting time of the year!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott - Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

This was our first hotel experience in a non downtown property in Duluth. This Residence Inn is located about 10 minutes away from the Lake Superior area we usually stay. It is convenient to the Duluth airport and a modern shopping and retail presence. The property is quite new, very well appointed and maintained. Our suite was spacious and comfortable in all respects. It would be particularly appropriate for the extended stay traveler having a fully functional kitchen. The Marriott breakfasts are among the best anywhere and this was no exception. About the only downside to this Residence Inn location is the lack of a view of the lake. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Non arterial side probably quieter during open window times.
See more room tips
Green Features: Usual good Marriott chain practices in effect; encourage towel reuse and washable tableware in use.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, December 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!

We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words about our property.

We hope that we will be able to accommodate you again soon!


Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott - Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Address: 517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.