We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here in July 2013 for a weekend away from the twin cities. I must say that this place offered more than I was expecting from a hotel. Helpful and friendly staff. I was surprised how pleasant the staff was and helped suggest hiking trips in the area for us. Spotless and clean throughout. Near a fair amount of shopping and restaurants. Location is good to make your base camp while going on day trips around the area. It is removed (not walking distance) from the downtown area, but an easy drive down the hill. The rooms were excellent and spacious and better than some 5-star hotels I have stayed. Good selection at the continental breakfast in the morning. Arrive early as it is popular. Great staff, great stay. I have recommended this hotel to numerous friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate that you have recommended us to others. We understand that it has been awhile since you last stayed but we hope that you will visit us again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    32
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
56
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel from March thru first of June. What a great place with a wonderful staff. They got to know us and spoke every time we saw them. Great lobby area for hanging out. Breakfast and dinner were always good. The pool area is nice, however the hot tub is way over chlorinated. Ruined my wife's bathing suit. The patio area was also very nice and we took full advantage of the gas grill on the weekends. Would recommend this place for anyone headed to Duluth

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amana, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My family and I have stayed here a couple times and I don't have a single complaint about this business. Spacious, clean rooms. Hotel is pretty new so everything is very nice. Comfortable beds and always quiet. The breakfast is great. Good selection of food and always had plenty available. Friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us!

We hope that the next time you're in Duluth we will have the opportunity to offer you another great stay!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My job brings me to Duluth 3-4 times a year, and I've tried a number of hotels in the area. This one has so far won me over as being the best I've stayed in.

It is situated a little way from the downtown, which is probably a good thing. And there is very good access to shopping and dining. Ample parking and a seemingly calm and safe neighborhood.

I'm not sure when it was built, but it is modern and fresh. Doesn't feel dated at all. The lobby is pleasant, and the staff I've interacted with have been friendly and professional.

You'll find a well stocked mini shop by check in. Also several nights during the week they provide free food. Whilst it isn't going to win a Michelin Star any time soon, I was actually pretty impressed on the two nights I ate there. In fact to tell the truth I have paid for food in hotel restaurants that were nowhere near as good as what they offer for free here!

I was upgraded to a corner king suite which as usual for a Residence Inn has a full sized kitchen complete with decent sized fridge freezer, dishwasher, oven, hob, and microwave. There was a good sized table for two and a separate work desk, with ample plug in point all over.

This kitchen area flows into the living room with a large sofa and sitting chair, a fireplace (which is a really nice and oft necessary piece of equipment in icy Duluth), and big screen TV. Decor was pleasant as are the furnishings.

There's a decent sized sink and bathroom area, and separate bedroom with king bed and another big screen TV.

Housekeeping was efficient and didn't make any mistakes the whole time I was there. Everything being cleaned and tidied as I would expect with good attention to detail.

Duluth is not New York, you are not going to have a million choices of hotels up here. But for most people's needs, this is good solid quality accommodation that is going to be hard to beat around here.

If I had to complain about anything it would be that my bed was just average. I've had far better in many Marriott properties. It wasn't bad, I just found the mattress ordinary.

My other concern would be a lack of covered parking. This is an area that gets a LOT of snow. Heck it even snowed today, and it's MAY! So I'd be concerned staying here in the winter that I'd have to spend some time digging my car out of the snow. Other similar hotels, such as the Holliday Inn downtown have ramp parking.

Other than those two observations, this is a very nice property, doing a great job. I've already booked my next stay here.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a room with a fireplace if you're staying in the many many cold months that D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us!

We very much appreciate positive reviews, but it's even more gratifying to hear praise from guests who have stayed at some great properties across the country.

In regards to parking. Although covered parking at our hotel is limited, we certainly aim to be proactive when it comes to snow removal and guest assistance during the winter months. We hope that will not deter you from staying with us in December (or May!) when it might be snowing in Duluth.

Again, thanks so much for the review and we hope that you will visit us again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I booked this hotel strictly by tripadvisor reviews. I usually stay downtown, but wanted to stay near the shopping area, and passed this place a few times. It was worth it! I was greeted with 2 super friendly faces, and even when I was slightly confused on where I was booked in at (There's another Marriott, but not residence, up the road, and I might have hit the panic button as I thought I booked the wrong one lol), a nice quick check in got me into my room. Now, I've never stayed at this chain before, so I was shocked, but there was a FULL kitchen in the room! Right down to a dishwasher!! Now, the name hints that it's meant for more than a one night stay, but I actually asked if I was upgraded rooms for free, because it was great! I didn't check out many of the amenities, but the dining area seemed nice, and there was a group of people enjoying their take out in the area, I peeked in the pool and all the kids seemed happy. The beds were super comfy. My only critique was maybe parking, there isn't much around the hotel, but there's a big dirt lot off to the side. But I'm really grasping at straws, here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we very much appreciate your kind comments. We must say, we were pretty excited about your review just by looking at the title!

We're glad that TripAdvisor was helpful in your choice to stay with us. We find it to be an incredibly useful tool for travelers looking for hotel recommendations, especially those who may have only been accustomed to staying in one part of the city, but are looking to try something different.

We're glad that it worked out for you and certainly hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The location was great with good proximity to shopping and restaurants on the hill. We found the suite very clean and representative of what you would expect from this 'brand'

We stayed here during Grandma's Marathon, 2013. The staff were very energetic around the events taking place, and we found them all to be pleasant and helpful. The hotel is only a few blocks from the mall, where shuttle buses pick up for the start of the race.

My only negative (picky) - It seemed to me to be quiet a hike to carry things in and out of the hotel from the parking lot to the room, especially if you parked in the back (long ramp).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate your comments about our hotel and hope that your stay was a memorable one. If we're fortunate enough to accommodate you while in Duluth again, please let us help you with your bags. Although, we don't have a traditional bellman for assistance with bags, we would be more than happy to get you situated, especially for such a big weekend!

Thank you again for your great review. We hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have stayed here before and are never disappointed. From a professional, pleasant check in to check out, it is always great.

We had a great room and felt so at home. Left a tip for housekeeping and got a personal thank you upon our return---nice to know it was appreciated. As always the room was spotless.
The beds are comfortable, the kitchen area is great, much above any place else we have been.
Love the separate sink from the rest of the bathroom, just everything is a cut above.

The breakfast is very nice and has an a great array of options, definitely different than most. The staff there was cheerful, accommodating and helpful. Nice little sections where you can have a more private breakfast if you want or need to. Again, all of the touches are helpful and very appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are strong proponents of the little things being the difference between a good stay and a great one and your comments definitely validate that sentiment. It's very gratifying to hear that our team's efforts were recognized and we will make sure to pass your comments along.

Again, we appreciate your kind words about out hotel and hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with the same level of service again soon

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Address: 517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.