We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is probably the best I've stayed at in Duluth. Rooms are very modern with lots of amenities - utensils, plates, cups etc. TVs in common area and bedroom, and sink separate from toilet and shower which is nice. The location is great too, right by the mall/Miller Hill area.
The complimentary breakfast was super good! Roasted potatoes/hashbrowns, eggs with different fixings, amazing waffles with whipped cream, choco chips, caramel, berries, syrup, walnuts and several other toppings! Definitely the most selection and best food I've had for breakfast at a hotel.
Pool, hot tub, etc were great too.
Looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us!

I think it's safe to say that your review of our hotel was, well....AWESOME. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the design and amenities offered by our hotel. We're also glad that you appreciate our location and it's proximity to the mall, as that is sometimes overlooked. We're excited that you plan on staying with us again and we hope that your next stay will be even better than the first!

Again, thank you so much for your review.

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    23
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
47
5
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Took my daughter here with her friends to celebrate her birthday. I booked the two room suite which provided a lot of room for the girls. The fully stock kitchenette was beautiful, easy to use appliances, even an ice maker! The pool is large, clean, and poolside has lots of chairs in which to relax. The hot tub was nice too, but as usual, lots of chemicals. Enough poolside towels for everyone. This hotel is beautiful and well done. Clean lines, excellent decor, and spacious. Our room too, was very clean. Nice to see ceramic tub and nice Kohler fixtures in the bathroom. Breakfast was delicious!! An array of foods to choose from, sausage and gravy, herbed potatoes, eggs, make your own waffles, yogurt, juices, and hot cereal. The girls were all able to find something delicious and were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Corner room, away from elevator is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We love when families choose the Residence Inn to celebrate special occasions. We love it even more when they share their positive experience with us and other travelers. We're glad that our hotel could host you, your daughter, and her friends; and we hope that your great experience will eventually bring you back to enjoy more memories at our property. Happy Belated Birthday to your daughter and thank you, again, for the great review!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I rate this hotel very high. The rooms are huge with breakfast nook, desk, lounge/ sitting area, kind size bed, separate sink and tub & john. There is a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, small burners & toaster. The hotel has a pool and gym. Internet access is free.
The large flat screen TV swivels 360 degrees so it can be viewed from any location.
I really like to décor. It is somewhat contemporary and very classy. They often have a social hour in the evening and breakfast is provided in the morning. Staff are super friendly.
The hotel is within a short distance of a number of restaurants and a shopping center. Being a Residence Inn it is geared for long term stays but accommodates one night guests.
I really liked this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us! You're thorough analysis of our hotel's features and amenities will undoubtedly aid future travelers in making their hotel accommodations in Duluth. Again, thank you for your great review and we hope that you will stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great customer service, excellent room (with a kitchen and seperate living room), scrumptuous breakfast (one of the better continental breakfasts we've had), and in a nice location (althought not downtown Duluth).

We visit Duluth about once a year, so we'll certainly continue to stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your review,Christi!

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott in Duluth. We want to thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel and those remarks certainly go a long way in empowering our staff to provide the best guest experience possible.

Again, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are excited for your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, very clean. I have stayed here multiple times and always feel welcomed!! Highly recommend this consistent Marriott product. Great location when in the Twin Ports area. The pool area is also clean and inviting.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, Denise!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us--and continually choose Marriott when you visit Duluth. We love having the opportunity to build relationships with repeat customers like yourself, and it also allows us to obtain a better understanding for what our guests value most.

Again, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are excited for your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay! The two bedroom suite was well appointed for my senior mother, husband and myself. Lots of privacy with the kitchen and living room between the two bedrooms. Great to have two full baths. The hotel was quiet, clean, and we enjoyed the modern decor. Something for everyone with the breakfast. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us--and that the room dimensions worked well for your stay. Your review will indeed be beneficial to others looking for a hotel in Duluth.

Again, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will visit again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights during a Winter Snowstorm- 25" of snow in 3 days and happy to be at the Residence Inn. Complimentary breakfast and a lite dinner each night with a great room with full kitchenette and sitting area. Erin the General Manager spoke with me daily as well as all guests to make sure everyone's needs we're being met. All associates from those at the Reception desk to the Food Service were so pleasant and accommodating. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We very much appreciate when guests note our customer service as a reason for an enjoyable stay. Duluth winters can often offer inclement conditions, so it is our goal to provide an atmosphere that is warm and welcoming from our facilities to our staff members.

Again, we hope that you did indeed enjoy your stay despite the weather and hope that you will visit again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Address: 517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.