We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Call” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Tough Call”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I could not decide whether to give this hotel a four or a five. If four point five was an option, this would have been my choice. Overall, the property is wonderful. I am very picky, however, and expect perfection when I give a hotel a five. The issues here were very minor, so I rounded up to five.

Pros: Perfect location if you don't want to be in Canal Park. If you want to do non-touristy, practical shopping, this is the place to be. Cub Foods is next door and is accessible on foot by a dirt path. The mall, every kind of department store you can think of, and many popular chain restaurants are also just up the road. Even though we visited as tourists, there were attractions we saw outside of Canal Park, so this was just as handy as anywhere else. I was unable to find a two bed/bath suite with the amenities I sought anywhere else in Duluth. The kids enjoyed the pool and said the water was warm. A free, delicious supper is served three nights per week. Several side dish choices were offered. Two people appeared to be working the supper and they stayed on top of things. The rooms and common areas were clean. The hotel is quiet. The kitchen in our room actually had an oven, which I have never seen at competing all-suite hotels. The housekeeping staff always smiled and said hello, even initiating contact. Also, competing chains seem to take longer to get suites cleaned. Last year we visited a Staybridge where our room was not cleaned until 5:00 every day. The Residence had ours clean before noon. The front desk staff was also cheerful and helpful. Our request to face away from the street was honored. They cooperated with two changes of our reservation and did not get things mixed up. We did not encounter one grouchy employee. Even the man picking up trash outside greeted us. There were two elevators that functioned well. We never waited for an elevator. The hotel is newish, so the decor was trendy.

Cons- For the price of the room ($199) and the age of the hotel, I expected a better mattress. It was rather hard and basic. We had to buy a pizza pan. This seems like a standard item for a kitchen with an oven. The morning breakfast attendant had a challenging time trying to keep up with the breakfast rush. I could tell the difference that two employees made when they served supper. With the exception of one long table, the breakfast tables were too small. They had booths by the front windows which could seat five, but the tables were not big enough for more than a couple of plates. The maids did not keep our kleenex and toilet paper stocked. One bathroom went without kleenex for two days. We were on our last half roll of toilet paper and they did not stock a new roll. I found our full bathroom trash bad lying on the bathroom vanity.

With the exception of the mattress, these cons were all minor. If we were to return to Duluth, this would continue to be my first choice of lodging. Whoever has trained the staff has done an exceptional job.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the busy street out front and away from the garbage dumpster (the truck com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are so grateful for guests like yourself that take the time to thoroughly review our property, in an effort to help others. Although we take pride in offering our guests with excellence service--we always welcome the opportunity to improve--so thank you for both the pro's, and the con's.

We are certain that your review will help others in their hotel selection process, so we thank you again. We wish you the very best, and we hope to see you again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
32
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked a flight from Las Vegas to Duluth,MN. Flight scheduled to depart at 2:30 pm and arrive in Duluth,MN at 7:30Pm. We booked a room at the Residence Inn in Duluth for July 19th and 20th. We waited until 7:30PM to board our Allegiant Air flight to be taken off and flight cancelled. I called to the Residence Inn twice on the evening of the 19th. First time I spoke with Mike and advised we would be late. Then I called again and spoke with Hanna at approximately 8:30 pm and advised flight cancelled we wouldnt be able to make it to cancel our reservation. She advised me that I couldnt cancel with the Hotel directly that I should call Expedia and she provided me a phone #of 210-477-1089. I didnt book thru Expedia so they couldnt help me either. We were in the worst rain storm I have ever been in,so we found a place to stay for the night. I starting calling Priceline and Residence Inn this morning. Per Mike at Residence Inn he will cancel and refund the 2nd night but not the first. I understand it is not the Residence Inn's fault I did not make it to Minnesota, but it is also not my fault either. I do not believe that you have provided me the best customer service. I am asking for a full refund for both nights. So if anyone out there is planning a trip to Duluth you might not want to stay at the Residence Inn if this is the best customer service that they provide.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Robin,

We understand your frustration with the situation, and your recent travel plans.

According to our records, this reservation was made through a third-party booking website, in which case the reservation must be cancelled through that particular party; in accordance with their cancellation policy. We feel that we did our best in contacting the third-party in order to have the second night canceled and refunded to you.

Additionally, any reservation made directly through our hotel includes a cancellation policy that states the reservation may be cancelled without penalty any time before 6 p.m. the day of the reservation. We received a call from you at 8:30 p.m. (10:30 p.m. CST) at which point it was unfortunately too late to cancel the reservation.

Again, we apologize for the circumstances, and we wish you the very best.

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent a night at this property and frankly did not expect much, but we were VERY pleasantly surprised. It is a new, beautiful hotel and offers really nice amenities. We stayed in a 2 room suite which was elegantly decorated and had brand new appliances with very comfy beds. The front desk staff were great, efficient and helpful and the other staff members were equally exceptional. The free breakfast was very good...eggs, waffles, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, bagels, toast, etc. served in a nicely appointed breakfast area. They have a fenced in basketball 1/2 court which would be fun for kids. There is no restaurant on site, but there are several close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is set back a ways from the main road, it did not appear that the rooms in the front...
See more room tips
Green Features: Marriott has good environmentally friendly policies in place for all their hotels.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Although our hotel is over 2 1/2 years old now, we do our very best to keep it looking "brand new". We take a lot of pride in keeping the hotel looking great--while also providing the very best service to compliment the physical aspects of the hotel. We LOVE the comment that you were "VERY pleasantly surprised"!

Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel (rooms, staff, breakfast) is top notch in service and decor. It has a full kitchen and the rooms are large. It's not located in Duluth proper so you need a car to go downtown. It's about a 10 minute easy drive and parking downtown is easy. We found places to park for free each time we went and it was busy. The hotel is about 2 years old so everything we saw was in great shape. The front desk is outstanding with our hats off to Cheryl. They have pool facilities, basketball court, most nights a meal (fee offering) and lots more.

The only reason I'm giving the hotel 4 stars is the shower head was turned up (probably by housekeeping when they were cleaning) and they forgot to return it to its original position. Since I'm short, that was a problem. If my husband hadn't been there I would have had to call for service.

Note: If you go to see the famous lift bridge (in Duluth), cross the bridge and you can park for free just over it. It's a 2 minute walk back over the bridge to the stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your GREAT review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We very much appreciate the time you have taken to write such a kind review. You have highlighted so many things that we are happy to provide our guests. It truly is guests like yourself, who identify such qualities--that allow our hotel to be successful.

Again, thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel was modern, clean, comfortable, spacious and well-lit with helpful staff and a nice pool.

While pricier than many in the area, it can be a great deal for a family, particularly on nights when both dinner and breakfast are provided (check before booking).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate that you have recognized the value that we offer our guests. We love that we're able to provide guests with features and amenities that are not found in many hotels. We do this for guests like yourself that value these amenities. They are things that make many of our guests stays memorable ones.

Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you and your family again soon!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great stay at this hotel. Rooms were clean. Hotel staff were very nice and polite and helped us out as tour guides directing us to great restaurants and bars. Thought the hotel was overpriced though for the location

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad that you enjoyed our stay with us.

We love it when guests laud our efforts as "tour guides". We are very familiar with the city and love to provide guests with recommendations of local attractions and eateries. We strongly encourage any guest to stop by the front desk and get a rundown of everything Duluth has to offer!

Thank you again for your kind review.

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice,clean,spacious rooms. Excellent staff and great breakfast options. Just minutes away from area attractions...easy to find. Top notch hotel! Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Duluth.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review--we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We very much appreciate it when guests take time out of their day to share their positive experience with others. It goes a long way in helping others choose to stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth.

Thank you again, and we are very excited for your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Address: 517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.