We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this property in April 2013. We happened to arrive the day after Duluth received over a foot of snow. My only complaint was that they could have done a bit better with snow and ice removal from walkways and the parking areas. However, I do realize that they got quite a lot of snow in a short period of time, so it's forgivable.
The staff was very nice and the breakfast was above average. They had fruits, nuts and chocolate chips to mix in with the waffle batter, which was a nice touch.
Although we didn't use it, I was really impressed with their guest laundry area. It's just off the pool with a window where you can see the pool. It would be so convenient to do laundry and be able to watch your kids in the pool at the same time.
The outside of the building is very unique and appealing. The pool area had balls and toys in it for the children, which I've never seen in a hotel before. Our suite was very nice and very clean. It had a large TV on a swivel stand so you could watch it from the couch or the bed. We were in room 411, which was fairly close to the elevator, but we didn't hear it once.
In all, I'd say this is one of the best properties we've ever stayed at and one I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We understand that the design and layout of the hotel is something that is very important to our guests so we are very glad to hear that you are impressed with our efforts. Unfortunately, the weather in Duluth is not the most forgiving and we do have large amounts of snow at times. We thank you for expressing your concern over the snow removal, it's something that we recognize and will continue to do our best to clear as quickly as possible.

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    20
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
39
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mantorville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is a very clean and well-kept hotel, the staff is friendly and accommodating, the facilities (particularly the pool and fitness areas) are outstanding, the complimentary breakfast was better than most, and the location was great for all of the things we wanted to do in Duluth.

Whenever we travel to Duluth we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Bill,

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are very proud and privileged to have such a great staff, thank you for recognizing their efforts. We also are privileged to have such great guests stay with us, and your comment signifies that.

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is very clean with a very modern design. The rooms are well designed and comfortable.The pool water was very clear and clean and the water temperature was good for working out. The breakfast area is well designed and offered a very nice variety of breakfast foods.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Barb,

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Our vision was to provide our guests with the design and amenities of a modern home, so we appreciate the fact that you recognized our efforts.

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel is on a hill near the biggest mall in Duluth, but also only a few minutes from downtown. Loved the new design for the Residence Inn. Smart design for the breakfast area that spreads into the lobby with a fire place. Our room had a tighter space then what we remembered form other Residences but the design and layout was smarter.
Enjoyable stay with a very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Gary,

Thank you so much for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are blessed to have such a great staff, and we are glad that they were of help to you.

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very close to the Miller Hill Mall, Shopko, Target and Kohl's. Having the kitchen is great to cook lunch in the room to cut down on food costs. There is a grocery store right next door. Breakfast is a mixture of hot and cold items, with lots of selection. My favourite is the waffles - they have whipped cream, fruit, nuts and chocolate chips to top them off. The breakfast area is quite roomy with some tables having TV monitors. There is an indoor pool, hot tub, fitness room and sauna.

Room Tip: We had a room right across the hall from the pool and we never heard any noise - rooms are very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnDth, Public Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi samanthandtravismom,

Thank you for your review---we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to your next visit!

Andy Schwantes
Social Media Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott- Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

If stay here again in a heartbeat. Room was spacious, well put together and very clean. Front desk staff was friendly and if I was staying here longer if take them up on their pool facilities most likely. Not sure how other hotels are priced in the area, this seems reasonable for the room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband is working in Duluth, and will be staying at this hotel for 8 months. They are doing everything possible to make it a great time and as comfortable as possible. The rooms are great, the beds really really comfortable. The staff is the best I have ever encountered, just really nice people who want to make your stay enjoyable and stress free.

Room Tip: If you have a dog you might want to have a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Address: 517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.