We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll never stay anywhere else in Duluth again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We'll never stay anywhere else in Duluth again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

After celebrating Christmas in a single room hotel room with my husband and two kids, we traveled to Duluth on Christmas Eve to celebrate with my husband's side. I had contracted the worst case of stomach flu the night before and was in the midst of recovering, I was very weak and tired by the time we got to Residence Inn.

The desk staff were so friendly and has automatically upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite. If I was feeling better, I would have thrown them a parade. The room was beautiful and if I can to be quaranteened by myself in a hotel room on Christmas Eve, I was sure glad this was the place!! So homey, clean, comfy and quiet!

The couple of times I ran down to the desk for soup or tea, the staff were so friendly saying a very sincere "Merry Christmas" every chance they got. The next morning they were equally pleasant and friendly.

I don't think we can ever go back to a regular hotel room in Duluth again, we are officially spoiled by the two bedroom at Residence Inn!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Hi amyskis,

Ugh, there's nothing worse then being stuck with the flu when you are away from the comforts of your own home! We are so glad that you felt that comfort here at the Residence Inn and that you were still able to enjoy a bit of the holiday season. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We look forward to the next time your family visits us---we will have a two bedroom suite waiting!

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    21
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
39
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and the different ameneties they offered (such as the social nights) and the outdoor firepit and BBQ really added to the experience. The hotel itself is very modern and the rooms are great. I found the staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Hello peanutpants,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking time to write about your visit here on TripAdvisor!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon--

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 teen children) used this as a base to explore the Duluth area, as well as northwest Wisconsin. We really couldn't have found a better place. This is a very new property and very well maintained. We got a 2 bedroom suite. 2 adults in one bedroom, 2 kids in the other bedroom, and the third child on the pull out sofa in the middle. We've never had such a peaceful trip as we had plenty of time together while out of the hotel, but when we got back we could escape to different areas if we needed a little quiet time.

In addition, we were able to save a bundle on food costs as the room came with a full kitchen. You just bring in your food; everything else is there for you to use. There is a Cub Foods right next door if you want to shop, or the hotel will actually shop for you for FREE if you give them a list and bring it back to your room. In addition, to a great free breakfast every day, on Tuesday - Thursday evenings they even serve a dinner in the lobby for all the guests. For us, one night was grilled brats, potato salad, chips, baked beans, dessert, sodas. Another night was a Mexican buffet to make your own burritos, including beverages and dessert. The third was more of a snack, but we managed to make a meal out of it.

Super friendly staff, large pool and hot tub, outdoor seating, extremely comfortable beds, and a small basketball court were all bonuses. It's located on a major street so was easy to get downtown or out of town pretty easily.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Hello Roadtrip5!

Wow! Thank you for such a glowing review! We are so glad that you and your family were able to take advantage of all of the great amenities here at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next big adventure--

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

We stayed there last night and had to evacuate due to a popcorn fire started by a employee.. We were very disappointed in how the situation was handled. Person on duty had many chances to explain or apologize this morning since the breakfast area is in the same area as the lobby but chose to stand there with a blank look all morning! Where's the compensation for hauling 4 little kids out in the freezing temps in the middle of the night??? Manager don't bother commenting either you were a no show too!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear Hockeymo3,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth. As a new hotel, it takes both the positive reviews and the reviews regarding guest challenges to keep us at the top of our game to continue to be a successful hotel in Duluth.

My sincere apologies for not being present for a face-to-face apology the morning after the fire alarm. When attention is needed for urgent situations that occur at the hotel at odd hours of the day, its difficult to abide by a typical routine, thus I was not present at breakfast.

We do our best to take care of guests concerns as soon as they are brought to our attention and again, I apologize for the customer service you felt was missed by myself and our staff.

Thank you again for your review--

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed 2 nights for business. Always a great place to stay in Duluth. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Kitchen is great for cooking if so desired. Morning hot breakfast is more than adequate. Evening light meals are equally good. All included in price. Easy access to downtown Duluth.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Hello kokodoc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so glad that you have been enjoying your time spent here at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth.

Looking forward to your next visit with us!

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder bay ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

we stayed here over the Columbus day weekend. We have stayed here before, and enjoyed it. this time we took a one bedroom suite with fireplace mostly in order to have an oven. What a disappointment. the oven would not heat up, the stove top is the slowest and coldest I've ever used. Otherwise our stay was great, but I would not recommend this if you need to cook for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Hello elsier33,

Thank you for your recent review of the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth. So sorry to hear about your oven! We have THE best, hands down, maintenance manager here at the hotel and I know he would not be happy to hear that something wasn't working to its max efficiency. We will look into it.

We hope we will be seeing you again in the future. With my strong confidence in our hotel staff and amenities I can assure you that if you choose to stay in a one bedroom suite with a fireplace during your next visit, you will have a pot of boiling water in no time.

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I travel to Duluth once a month on business. This property is head and shoulders above every other property I've stayed at, including The Suites, Comfort Suites, The Inn, The Kitchigami Club (where I'm a member), Beacon Pointe, Fitzgers and several highly rated B&B's (to be avoided). I stayed in a one bedroom w/ fireplace, as well as walked through a studio unit. Great floor plans and super basic amenities (TV, bedding, kitchen, bath, etc.). Breakfast was excellent, including eggs, hash browns, fruit, sweets and good coffee. The location is convenient, though I regret it's nowhere near the lake. Alas, no place by the lake I've tried is any good! This residence Inn is nevertheless excellent. Not cheap, however.

Room Tip: The corner room we stayed in was great, though a bit of walk from the lobby/ dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGenManager, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Hello neverflyguy,

THANK YOU, THANK YOU for such a positive review knowing that we are up against some of our greatest competitors!

We are so happy to hear that you have been enjoying your time with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth during your business trips to Duluth.

Looking forward to your next visit with us!

We appreciate you,
Erin Torgerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth

Address: 517 West Central Entrance, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not a room, it's a Residence! The Residence Inn by Marriott-Duluth offers the design and amenities of a modern home. Work. Enjoy. Unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Duluth Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.