We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...expected more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Valentini's Vicino Lago

Valentini's Vicino Lago
1400 London Rd, Ste 100, Duluth, MN 55805-2458
218-728-5900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 227 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Minot, North Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed...expected more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had checked out the menu of Valentini's online & thought it sounded like an Italian restaurant that we would really like---NOT the 'Olive Garden' variety---but, sadly, it was the 'Olive Garden' variety, which I know many people really enjoy and I'm glad they do. I would have appreciated someone clarifying this for me since that would have been a 'game changer' for us and we would have gone elsewhere.
Very average menu, few 'healthier' options, little (if any) fish...disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

For a unique breakfast experience this is the place to go. Tasty food from an unusual menu with plenty of atmosphere. Dine outside; inside by the windows overlooking the lake; or near the fireplace during inclement weather.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“super helpful staff and yummy dinner to take home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were looking for an easy dinner to take and eat at home for 8 people, and Valentini's was it! The server at the order counter had really helpful suggestions, including telling us how we could create and request a vegetarian pasta everyone enjoyed. Their Italian salad was also yummy and very pretty with multicolored veggies. While we waited for them to prep our food, we ordered espressos and she gave them to us with excellent oatmeal cookies on the side. Really a great option for tasty takeout, and outstanding service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Valentini's is one of our favorite "date night" destinations. It has a nice location near the Rose Garden on London Road, and you can eat outside if you wish. The food is always fantastic, whether you're eating steak or pasta, and the service is usually good. Interestingly -- and admittedly irrelevant to the quality of food or service-- I've noticed a trend with some of the female servers, which is to throw your seemingly uncombed hair into a pile on top of your head, which may be the standard for 20-somethings but in my humble opinion seems a bit unkempt and should probably be reserved for the checkers wearing their jammies at WalMart. :) Also, stay away on prom night or graduation because it will be packed. Overall, though, a couple's must try restaurant in Duluth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Phenomenal breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went for breakfast at Valentinis in Duluth yesterday and our food was amazing. Husband had their Breakfast Bruschetta with the apricot preserves & it he couldn't stop raving about it. I had the pancakes with apples on the side & they were probably the best pancakes I've had. Cooked perfectly and the flavor was outstanding (I love my pancakes). This is by far our favorite breakfast place in Duluth & the only problem is they don't have breakfast on Sundays so we couldn't go back this morning! The atmosphere is top notch & the view is spectacular. Service was great as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentini's Vicino Lago also viewed

 

Been to Valentini's Vicino Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentini's Vicino Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.