We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the lake...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gardenwood Resort and Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardenwood Resort and Motel
Save
You added Gardenwood Resort and Motel to your Saves list
5107 North Shore Drive, Duluth, MN 55804   |  
Hotel amenities
North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great view of the lake...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was so disappointed in this place. We rented Cabin 2 for 2 nights. While the view of the lake was nice and the location good, the paint was peeling off the walls, we had to wait 5 minutes between toilet flushes, and the stovetop was completely rusty. The coffeemaker had a used filter with coffee grounds still in it. The sheets were piled - not comfortable to lay my head on pillow. So disappointed to pay $139 a night - maybe worth $50. I am not high maintenance, but this cabin was not in renting shape. One of the stars I am giving is for the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

What a great location, and what lovely property, dotted with tall pines, right across from Lake Superior. But the cabin we stayed in--No. 11--was like an abandoned house. It smelled moldy and mildwey. The knob fell off the bathroom door. The refrigerator was so loud we had to unplug it so that we could sleep. The carpeting was filthy. The wallpaper was water stained and dirt. We are not picky people, but this place was beyond the pale. We had paid in advance for two nights but left after the first night to stay somewhere else.

I think it was telling that on a July evening we were the ONLY people there. All up and down the Shore, places were full. But we were the only ones staying at the Gardenwood.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We rented a cabin for 3 nights while we were in town to run Grandma's Marathon. The cabin was perfect complete with a nice kitchen, bathroom, table/chairs, and a comfortable bed. Additionally, we found the hospitality provided by the owners to be outstanding. They even held a BBQ after the race to celebrate the day. If you enjoy a comfortable cabin, bon fires, views of Lake Superior, and great hospitality then the Gardenwood Resort may be what you are looking for in Duluth.

Room Tip: We had cabin #10 which had its own fire ring and enough privacy to give us some space. The only catc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The gardenwood was a nice place to get away, there were families there and couples and everyone seemed to be there for the same reason a decent place to stay for a decent price with that north shore "woodsy" feeling. The cabins are cozy a little dated, but it really didn't matter to us because we weren't looking for fancy....

The owners were awesome and very friendly, the community fire pit was a nice place to hang out and you can't beat the location.

We can't wait to go back! If you want fancy, this isn't your place if you want fun, cozy, and quaint than this is for you. We loved it here and can't say enough about the good times we had!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holdingford, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here back in October. The place has a nice location and the owners are also very nice people. The cabins are old and are not very well kept. There was a hole in our ceiling, mold in places, furniture was out of date, took a while to get warm water, etc. Also I am 6 foot and an inch, I had to duck down in the bathroom so I wouldn't hit fixtures. It's a very nice place if the cabins were nicer... if you need a place to stay for a night as just yourself or a couple, I'd stay here, but not for more then a night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was a terrible place to stay . Cabin #5 was so small you couldn't turn around in it and the 13" TV left alot to be desired. Room was dirty and had alot of flies, will tell all my co workers at 3M this is not the pace to stay, way over priced for this cabin. Way to take advantage of your customers

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

Very sparse on amenities, but a good value for the money. Clean but a bit old. Just not a place to take your wife for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardenwood Resort and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenwood Resort and Motel

Address: 5107 North Shore Drive, Duluth, MN 55804
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gardenwood Resort & Motel is located 10 miles from Downtown Duluth, MN on the Scenic North Shore Drive. Our comfortable resort accommodations include 13 cabins and a 4-room motel settled into the woods next door to the McQuade Small Craft Harbor on Lake Superior. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardenwood Resort and Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.