We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Point Nature Trail

Park Point Nature Trail
Duluth, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 39 Attractions in Duluth
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Spectacular Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been to Duluth many times but just discovered this gem the last time we were there.

We had always driven to "the end" of the point but it wasn't until I checked my phone's satellite maps that I realized that the end of the road is nowhere near the end of the point! If you want to get to the end of the point, you have to take this beautiful path, which is approximately 2 miles long. It's a very flat and easy hike - the only 'hazards' are some sand and a bit of poison ivy (I had shorts on and had no issues).

We were there the weekend of "Tall Ships" where the crowds were nearly unbearable, but we saw maybe 4 other people in the entire 2 hour time we did this trail. Park near the airport and start walking - once you're past the airport, you enter an old-growth forest, continue on many sandy paths, past a very interesting, 150-year-old lighthouse ruin, and finally to the end of the point where the views of the lake are spectacular. On the way back we walked the shore beach for about half the distance, and you really feel like you're walking the ocean - it's simply beautiful.

We brought our 6 and 8 year old boys and with some encouragement they had no problems hiking out to the end of the point and back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hermantown
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What ppl really want to see in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

is fairly clean, part is city Park. water & beach very clean, the view goes on forever of lake. Always cool too cold to swim but who cares

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“my favorite thing to do when in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

this is a great flat hike out beyond the airstrip on Park Point. Lightly used. really interesting. sandy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful sandy hike through pine trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Be careful about the poison ivy, in season. Very nice, gentle trail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Diverse Natural Landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011 via mobile

We began our hike in a dense fog, picking up the trail on a boardwalk that straddles a beautiful landscape of grassy sand dunes. Once we hit the sand, we struggled for footing in the loose sand. Since it was early April, the shores were still obscured with thick, chunky ice, covered in spots by the iron-colored sand of the surrounding area giving the scene a Martian landscape quality. We eventually picked up the trail in the center of the park, beneath the tall pine canopy and had a straight shot to the 100-yr old lighthouse ruin. It was an awesome place and we had it all to ourselves since it was too cold for most other tourists this time of year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Point Nature Trail also viewed

 

Been to Park Point Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Point Nature Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.