We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Little Gem in Duluth,mn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willard Munger Inn

Save Saved
You added Willard Munger Inn to your Saves list
Willard Munger Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Willard Munger Inn
7408 Grand Avenue, Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Little Gem in Duluth,mn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For your money, location and accommodations, Willard Munger Inn is your best bet. Rooms are modern, clean and well maintained. The price is right, too. Continental breakfast includes waffles and french toast. Wifi and cable tv and free newspaper everyday. Across from Lake Superio zoo with complimentary tickets, across from Spirit Mountain Skiing, and great hiking on the Munger Trails. Free bikes and canoes are a bonus. And great fishing on the St Louis River. I have stayed here in the spring, summer, fall and winter months. It has always been the best experience. But, the nicest thing is the owners. The Mungers. They and their staff are great people. I will continue to go back.

Candace

Room Tip: Lower unit rooms have private door to deck and grill
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mankato mn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here while skiing at spirit mountain. Quite a pleasant place with the old fashion northwood charm very much reminding me of staying along the north shore in some of the older small resorts years ago. The staff had the room I stayed at extremely clean, much appreciated as I have been staying at some fairly expensive places lately that were just not nearly as nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindstrom, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the Willard Munger Inn whenever we visit the North Shore over the last 30 years or so. We've experienced the evolution of the Inn from a basic economical place to stay with minimal amenities to a cabin themed motel that promotes use of the nearby Willard Munger Trail, Spirit Mountain skiing and the Lake Superior Zoo (located just across the street). We've done a fair amount of traveling over the years and it's the only place we've ever stayed where (in the summertime) you can leave the room's window open and hear the lions roaring at the zoo! We've experienced their basic single rooms and most of their suites and have found them all very nice.

For instance, this past weekend we invited another couple to join us and we booked adjacent suites and spent a couple of days visiting our favorite Duluth shops, restaurants and entertainment spots. The weather was cold and rainy, but the Inn was bright, warm and welcoming. The suites were clean, quiet and spacious and, yes, some might say the showers are small but they're certainly adequate.

The owner (Will), his wife and staff were gracious and accommodating. And, as always, it was waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, orange juice and a Twin City or Duluth Newspaper for breakfast.

We and our guests felt the room rate for a suite was more than reasonable and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place doesnt look like anything special from the outside, but when checking in the workers were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are remodeled in a cabin like style and are very clean. Comfortable beds, flat screen tv, kitchenettes and some rooms have a deck which is nice if you are staying around your room. You may not be in your room much because of the hiking and biking trails directly behind the inn. The inn also has bicycles and helmets free to use to ride the trails. The host at the inn even offered us free tickets to the zoo which is very close! Breakfast was better then some continental breafasts. The real french toast not just french toast sticks were good with the freshly sliced strawberries. There was more to eat but thats what I had. Also I did enjoy the free newspaper that you get at breakfast. This was a great place to stay at a more than reasonable price for what you get. Location is 5 minutes from attractions downtown like the aerial bridge.Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here one night on the way to the boundary waters and one night on the way back and it was a wonderful place. Both rooms were remodeled and very nice. We were able to ride the free bikes on the trails and saw several deer and birds. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was good along with the complimentary papers. They even include free zoo passes. We thought this place was a steal of a deal and only a short and easy 5 minutes from the bridge and downtown Duluth.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We love this place, especially with all the updates to the rooms and grounds. Very comfortable and peaceful destination with wonderful trails and the St. Louis river nearby. The fresh fruit with the continental breakfast was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here in October of 2011, and really enjoyed biking with the use of the free rental bikes, and walking down by the bay. We also took advantage of the free zoo passes. The cool autumn evening was spent by the fire pit. It was a comfortable place to stay, and we just booked it again for a visit in August. Can't wait to enjoy a little bit of summer in Duluth!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Willard Munger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard Munger Inn

Address: 7408 Grand Avenue, Duluth, MN 55807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Willard Munger Inn is located right on the Willard Munger State Bicycle Trail, Western Waterfront, and Superior Hiking Trails. We provide complimentary bicycles, canoes, zoo passes and continental breakfast with your stay. Our Inn features 22 units -- from standard economy rooms to suites with decks, fireplaces and whirlpools. Enjoy hiking, biking, fishing, birding, & other activities when you stay at the Willard Munger Inn. Newly remodeled rooms. Large rooms with fireplaces and kitchen studios for groups. Or, relax in one of our whirlpool suites. All of our rooms offer flat-screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, coffee makers with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, refrigerator and microwave. Enjoy conversation and complimentary continental breakfast around our wood-burning stove in the lounge. Or, cozy up around one of our many outdoor firepits. Take in our flower and rock gardens throughout the property. All rooms smoke-free. Pet Friendly designated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Willard Munger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willard Munger Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.