We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allyndale Motel

Save Saved
You added Allyndale Motel to your Saves list
Allyndale Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Allyndale Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   510 N 66th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Waconia, Minnesota
1 review
“Very clean, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the motel on Easter weekend while visiting our daughter. We usually stay in Canal park but it's so expensive and for a short visit we didn't want to spend that much money. I found the Allyndale Motel online and we decided to try it for the one night in Duluth. It was one of the cleanest rooms we've ever stayed in, comfortable bed, had everything we needed and the price was right. We'll stay there again and hopefully the snow will be gone so we can do some walking!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My mom and I have stayed at the Allyndale motel a few times, and we always enjoy going back! The woman who runs it is so friendly (and we both share a love of dachshunds!) And she always makes you feel welcome. I have to say that if you are used to pristine brand new hotels, this isn't for you. The rooms are dated, but exceptionally clean. The motel itself is a bit difficult to find at first, but we just called the owner and she gave us step by step directions to get there. The Allyndale offers great rooms at great prices, I highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I like that it is not to far from places I like to go.
A beautiful nature setting for with challenging hiking trails for you pets.
The barbecue grills are a nice anmity for those who find the duluth restaurant
scene tired and redundant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

You will never regret staying here. The owners are genuine, friendly and hoestly care about you enjoying your stay. They have suites, rooms, grills available and 3 of the cutest little long haired dachshunds to meet as well. Quick to interstate and downtown. Won't find a better value or place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This isn't a chain and that is the best part about the Allyndale. The rooms are a little dated, but it lends itself to the "cabin-type" feel of the place. Kind of like being in a cabin but not having to go that rustic. The rooms are comfortable and CLEAN. The people are nice and prices good. We travel with our dogs and they have a great hill to exercise the dogs on. The deer come down there and sleep at night, so the wildlife is very close. You just feel rested after staying here. We've stayed here several times and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that are separate from the main building the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My name is Don and I work in Duluth quite frequently and whenever Im there I stay at the Allyndale Motel, Personally I wouldnt stay anywhere else, The Location is great, easy access to the freeway and shopping and to the Duluths sights, The rooms are cozy and clean, theres room to walk outside and do activities like grilling on the property, walk your dog, look at wildlife that come through the area like deer, Some coworkers and I even had a fishfry while we were there! The owners Chuck and Suzanne have 3 dachshunds that are just adorable, I have a dachsund I have to leave at home when I travel, very friendly accomodating people run this Motel, Bottomline, Just a Down to Earth, Cozy, Relaxing place to stay, Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have kitchenettes in them with a table and chairs and actually a small kitchen, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I were in Duluth for work. He was working in Cloquet at Sappi paper Mill, so I spent a great deal of time at the motel. I couldn't have been happier with my experience there. The owners were extremely nice and very accomodating. We were there for over a month and I was sad to leave the beautiful scenery and quiet evenings watching deer graze. I was able to bring my little Chihuahua and she loved all the grass and the friendly staff and guests. I would highly recommend this little gem of a motel if you prefer to be just outside of the city and away from any rifraf.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allyndale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allyndale Motel

Address: 510 N 66th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Allyndale Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country in the City, quiet 5 acre nature setting. Centrally located, minutes from Canal Park, Spirit Mountain, Miller's Hill Mall and Hermantown. Exceptionally clean rooms, all with cable TV, A/C, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers & WiFi. Winter plug-ins. Charcoal & Gas BBQs/picnic area. Kitchenettes & Suites Available. Large Parking Area. Continental Breakfast, All rooms are non-smoking. Small Dog Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Allyndale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allyndale Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allyndale Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.