We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass this little gem up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allyndale Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Allyndale Motel to your Saves list
Allyndale Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   510 N 66th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't pass this little gem up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

You will never regret staying here. The owners are genuine, friendly and hoestly care about you enjoying your stay. They have suites, rooms, grills available and 3 of the cutest little long haired dachshunds to meet as well. Quick to interstate and downtown. Won't find a better value or place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorenbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This isn't a chain and that is the best part about the Allyndale. The rooms are a little dated, but it lends itself to the "cabin-type" feel of the place. Kind of like being in a cabin but not having to go that rustic. The rooms are comfortable and CLEAN. The people are nice and prices good. We travel with our dogs and they have a great hill to exercise the dogs on. The deer come down there and sleep at night, so the wildlife is very close. You just feel rested after staying here. We've stayed here several times and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that are separate from the main building the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommasavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My name is Don and I work in Duluth quite frequently and whenever Im there I stay at the Allyndale Motel, Personally I wouldnt stay anywhere else, The Location is great, easy access to the freeway and shopping and to the Duluths sights, The rooms are cozy and clean, theres room to walk outside and do activities like grilling on the property, walk your dog, look at wildlife that come through the area like deer, Some coworkers and I even had a fishfry while we were there! The owners Chuck and Suzanne have 3 dachshunds that are just adorable, I have a dachsund I have to leave at home when I travel, very friendly accomodating people run this Motel, Bottomline, Just a Down to Earth, Cozy, Relaxing place to stay, Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have kitchenettes in them with a table and chairs and actually a small kitchen, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I were in Duluth for work. He was working in Cloquet at Sappi paper Mill, so I spent a great deal of time at the motel. I couldn't have been happier with my experience there. The owners were extremely nice and very accomodating. We were there for over a month and I was sad to leave the beautiful scenery and quiet evenings watching deer graze. I was able to bring my little Chihuahua and she loved all the grass and the friendly staff and guests. I would highly recommend this little gem of a motel if you prefer to be just outside of the city and away from any rifraf.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent one night here recently. Our room was very clean. The decor is very dated, but cleanliness is much more important to me. The beds were comfy. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful when we asked for restuarant suggestions and directions to various places. Location is in an older, more run down part of Duluth. I stayed at a much nicer hotel in a much better neighborhood in Duluth the next night for only $15 more. I would stay at Allyndale again, but only if there were no other places available.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Urbanfarmchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were supposed to spend the weekend but left after one night. We should have known upon arrival when their was a flee market/yard sale in their parking lot but gave it a shot and were sorry we did. Room was clean enough so we decided to spend the night but the street noise and dogs barking ensured we regreted it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck G, General Manager at Allyndale Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are grateful for feedback, both good or bad, from our guests. It shows us where we excel and where we have to concentrate extra effort. To this end we have phones if something requires immediate attention and review sheets in the rooms for guest comments, likes, dislikes and suggestions.

This review is rather perplexing as during September, 2012, 1. Our records show no weekend reservations being cut short to one night. 2. No one from Duluth was registered here. 3. We have never had a flea market/yard sale or any other commercial activity in the parking lot nor elsewhere on the property. We are on five acres and have BBQ grills, fire pits, picnic tables and chairs around the property, our guests spend time on outside activities. Also, all our rooms are non-smoking, if guest choose to smoke it must be done outside. 4. We are on five acres and far enough from the street that one would be hard pressed to hear a car and usually there is not any noise from other guests after 9:00 pm. 5. We are a dog friendly motel. Animals are not allowed to be left unattended in the rooms and they are not allowed to create a disturbance. If we are aware of any barking we request that the owners act to make it cease. If we are unaware of any annoyance to our guests a phone call is all it takes to remedy such a situation. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our room didn't look like it had really been updated since the early 70's - but it was clean and quiet. Easy access from the highway and a nice breakfast set up in the morning. We had one of the 2 bedroom rooms w/kitchen - and the kitchen was very well stocked and nice

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allyndale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allyndale Motel

Address: 510 N 66th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Allyndale Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, peaceful, 5 acre nature setting. Exceptionally clean rooms, all with cable TV, A/C, refrigerators microwaves, coffee makers and FREE wireless internet. Winter plug-ins. BBQ/Picnic Area. Kitchenettes, Family and Extended Stay Suites available. Large Parking Area for trailers. Continental style breakfast. All rooms Nonsmoking --- Centrally located, minutes from Canal Park,(8), Spirit Mountain,(4), Miller's Hill Mall and Hermantown,(9). Lake Superior walking trail and "Keenes" Creek boarder property. On snowmobile trail connecting to Minnesota and Canadian trails. ________________________________________________________________________________________ The Allyndale Motel includes rooms with: Single queen beds, Doubles, (two queen beds), Single kitchenettes, Double kitchenettes and Family Suites, (queen bed, full bed, twin bed and some have pull out sofa too) and a full size eat in kitchen. Reservation desk is open from 7:00 am till 10:00 pm daily. Cancellations: 24 advance notice, (special events require 3 days. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Allyndale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allyndale Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing