We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allyndale Motel

Save Saved
You added Allyndale Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Allyndale Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   510 N 66th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 hotels in Duluth
Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent one night here recently. Our room was very clean. The decor is very dated, but cleanliness is much more important to me. The beds were comfy. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful when we asked for restuarant suggestions and directions to various places. Location is in an older, more run down part of Duluth. I stayed at a much nicer hotel in a much better neighborhood in Duluth the next night for only $15 more. I would stay at Allyndale again, but only if there were no other places available.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were supposed to spend the weekend but left after one night. We should have known upon arrival when their was a flee market/yard sale in their parking lot but gave it a shot and were sorry we did. Room was clean enough so we decided to spend the night but the street noise and dogs barking ensured we regreted it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck G, General Manager at Allyndale Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are grateful for feedback, both good or bad, from our guests. It shows us where we excel and where we have to concentrate extra effort. To this end we have phones if something requires immediate attention and review sheets in the rooms for guest comments, likes, dislikes and suggestions.

This review is rather perplexing as during September, 2012, 1. Our records show no weekend reservations being cut short to one night. 2. No one from Duluth was registered here. 3. We have never had a flea market/yard sale or any other commercial activity in the parking lot nor elsewhere on the property. We are on five acres and have BBQ grills, fire pits, picnic tables and chairs around the property, our guests spend time on outside activities. Also, all our rooms are non-smoking, if guest choose to smoke it must be done outside. 4. We are on five acres and far enough from the street that one would be hard pressed to hear a car and usually there is not any noise from other guests after 9:00 pm. 5. We are a dog friendly motel. Animals are not allowed to be left unattended in the rooms and they are not allowed to create a disturbance. If we are aware of any barking we request that the owners act to make it cease. If we are unaware of any annoyance to our guests a phone call is all it takes to remedy such a situation. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our room didn't look like it had really been updated since the early 70's - but it was clean and quiet. Easy access from the highway and a nice breakfast set up in the morning. We had one of the 2 bedroom rooms w/kitchen - and the kitchen was very well stocked and nice

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Well I probably would not stay for a whole week but for a night or 2 I will go back. This place is Great. Very clean hotel (even when they allow pets) a little out dated decor, but that is why you are paying under $100.00. only noise I heard was when we first got there. People were talking some where by the window. Other than that I didn't hear the next room. Was so happy to have a hot shower in the morning and not having to worry if everyone else had used it all up.The staff is very helpful and nice. Location is perfect off the beaten path but not too far from anything in Duluth.Great acesss to 35 to get back to the cities. A Holiday Station near by so you can buy snacks or refreshments for the mini fridge. If you like a firm bed you'll be in love ( just it would have been a King since I liked it but not the hubby) so he tossed and turned and kept bumping me. I LOVED that I was there on Sunday morning since ONLY on this day for the contenential breakfast includes biscuits and gravy. The biscuits were wonderful not too dry or crumbly. Over all I am not going to check this motel off my list when I need a place to stay to see the fall leaves.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisswa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been staying here for about 15 years every time we come to Duluth. Very quiet and very clean. Only a few minutes to downtown and the convention center. The owners are so accommodating. The motel sits on 5 quiet acres with a little creek to the side and is a very easy access off the freeway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a cute little family owned hotel. It was clean and quiet and we had a nice stay here. There was a free continental breakfast and the woman that owns the place was super sweet. It is a good, inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Allyndale is our regular go-to motel in Duluth. The current construction in the area on Hwy 35 (which may actually be finished by now) made getting to them a bit of a challenge. (the Cody Ave exit off N-bound 35 and entrance to S-bound 35 were both closed when we visited a week ago.) The hotel provides very clean, comfortable rooms -- it would have been nice if the thermostat in our room had been turned above 60 degrees after we stopped to get the key in the morning. We returned about 10 pm and it took quite a while for the room to warm up. We left early without taking advantage of the breakfast which is put out at 7 am, but I did notice that there was biscuits and gravy as well as individually packaged sweet rolls,coffee, fresh fruit, etc. It looked very good. Check in -- very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allyndale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allyndale Motel

Also Known As:
Allyndale Hotel
Allyndale Hotel Duluth
Address: 510 N 66th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Allyndale Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country in the City, quiet 5 acre nature setting. Centrally located, minutes from Canal Park, Spirit Mountain, Miller's Hill Mall and Hermantown. Exceptionally clean rooms, all with cable TV, A/C, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers & WiFi. Winter plug-ins. Charcoal & Gas BBQs/picnic area. Kitchenettes & Suites Available. Large Parking Area. Continental Breakfast, All rooms are non-smoking. Small Dog Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Allyndale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allyndale Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.