We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allyndale Motel

Save Saved
You added Allyndale Motel to your Saves list
Allyndale Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allyndale Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   510 N 66th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean and quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our room didn't look like it had really been updated since the early 70's - but it was clean and quiet. Easy access from the highway and a nice breakfast set up in the morning. We had one of the 2 bedroom rooms w/kitchen - and the kitchen was very well stocked and nice

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Well I probably would not stay for a whole week but for a night or 2 I will go back. This place is Great. Very clean hotel (even when they allow pets) a little out dated decor, but that is why you are paying under $100.00. only noise I heard was when we first got there. People were talking some where by the window. Other than that I didn't hear the next room. Was so happy to have a hot shower in the morning and not having to worry if everyone else had used it all up.The staff is very helpful and nice. Location is perfect off the beaten path but not too far from anything in Duluth.Great acesss to 35 to get back to the cities. A Holiday Station near by so you can buy snacks or refreshments for the mini fridge. If you like a firm bed you'll be in love ( just it would have been a King since I liked it but not the hubby) so he tossed and turned and kept bumping me. I LOVED that I was there on Sunday morning since ONLY on this day for the contenential breakfast includes biscuits and gravy. The biscuits were wonderful not too dry or crumbly. Over all I am not going to check this motel off my list when I need a place to stay to see the fall leaves.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisswa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been staying here for about 15 years every time we come to Duluth. Very quiet and very clean. Only a few minutes to downtown and the convention center. The owners are so accommodating. The motel sits on 5 quiet acres with a little creek to the side and is a very easy access off the freeway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a cute little family owned hotel. It was clean and quiet and we had a nice stay here. There was a free continental breakfast and the woman that owns the place was super sweet. It is a good, inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Allyndale is our regular go-to motel in Duluth. The current construction in the area on Hwy 35 (which may actually be finished by now) made getting to them a bit of a challenge. (the Cody Ave exit off N-bound 35 and entrance to S-bound 35 were both closed when we visited a week ago.) The hotel provides very clean, comfortable rooms -- it would have been nice if the thermostat in our room had been turned above 60 degrees after we stopped to get the key in the morning. We returned about 10 pm and it took quite a while for the room to warm up. We left early without taking advantage of the breakfast which is put out at 7 am, but I did notice that there was biscuits and gravy as well as individually packaged sweet rolls,coffee, fresh fruit, etc. It looked very good. Check in -- very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I"ve been staying at the Allyndale for over 10 years now. I get personal treatment, its homey as homey can be, they let me BBQ outside, I can bring my pet, the grounds are beautiful, they care for my concerns and the price is always reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

It was our only choice in Duluth because the other hotels were full. We actually had to remove giant weeds to get into the room. The 2 room suite, was a dungeon style basement apartment, the floors were soaking wet, we were told it was because of the rain! We had to wear our shoes to bed. The only window in a 2 room suite was fogged over because the water vapor had nowhere to escape. We went to Target to get candles to mask the smell, they at least worked. It was clean but a complete disaster otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allyndale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allyndale Motel

Address: 510 N 66th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Allyndale Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country in the City, quiet 5 acre nature setting. Centrally located, minutes from Canal Park, Spirit Mountain, Miller's Hill Mall and Hermantown. Exceptionally clean rooms, all with cable TV, A/C, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers & WiFi. Winter plug-ins. Charcoal & Gas BBQs/picnic area. Kitchenettes & Suites Available. Large Parking Area. Continental Breakfast, All rooms are non-smoking. Small Dog Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Allyndale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allyndale Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allyndale Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.