We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free and informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center

Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center
600 South Lake Avenue, Duluth, MN 55802
218-720-5260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 84 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/day tour, Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This maritime museum details the Great Lakes' history and the part they played in the shipping industry.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Free and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not many museums are free these days, but this one is and contains tons of interesting information about the Great Lakes. We only had about 45 minutes before having to meet some friends for lunch and we could have used some more time to do this place justice. Now I understand lot more about shipping on the lakes, shipwrecks, the lake ecosystem, and lots more.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    77
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What a bargain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Some friends told us about this museum, and we rushed to get there before they closed for the evening. It turned out, they were open a bit later than we expected on that Sunday. This is a FREE museum with all kinds of information about the Great Lakes, in particular, Lake Superior. There were engine room and bunk room replicas, information about the various freighters, and a great Edmund Fitzgerald display. Since we only had the one night, and also wanted to visit another attraction before closing, we didn't get to spend as much time here as we could have. It is well worth your time to come here, and it's right next to the lift bridge.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“A must do in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I must be honest and admit that we only visited here as the atrocious weather prevented us from doing other things.

It was a good decision though and I'm still astonished that there is no charge for this.

In addition to the many fascinating exhibits there is a documentary running which follows several cargo ships coming in and out of the port to load/unload.

The staff on hand were extremely knowledgeable and welcomed questions.

A great way to spend a few hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it, went here 3 times in 5 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It has so much history and cool maritime related displays! My son really enjoyed hearing the ship captains talking to the Aerial Lift bridge attendant as the ships got closer and closer to the canal! Just a real neat place to go and it is FREE! They could charge and we would go back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great way for me to get my "ship" fix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I like all the ships that sail the Great Lakes and have learned so much about them at the Maritime Visitor Center. Of course, the first thing I look for is the schedule for arriving/departing ships! The Maritime Center also keeps you aware of the dangers of the Great Lakes as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.