We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free and informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center

Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center
600 South Lake Avenue, Duluth, MN 55802
218-720-5260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 39 Attractions in Duluth
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/day tour, Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This maritime museum details the Great Lakes' history and the part they played in the shipping industry.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Free and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not many museums are free these days, but this one is and contains tons of interesting information about the Great Lakes. We only had about 45 minutes before having to meet some friends for lunch and we could have used some more time to do this place justice. Now I understand lot more about shipping on the lakes, shipwrecks, the lake ecosystem, and lots more.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    56
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“What a bargain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Some friends told us about this museum, and we rushed to get there before they closed for the evening. It turned out, they were open a bit later than we expected on that Sunday. This is a FREE museum with all kinds of information about the Great Lakes, in particular, Lake Superior. There were engine room and bunk room replicas, information about the various freighters, and a great Edmund Fitzgerald display. Since we only had the one night, and also wanted to visit another attraction before closing, we didn't get to spend as much time here as we could have. It is well worth your time to come here, and it's right next to the lift bridge.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
475 helpful votes 475 helpful votes
“A must do in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I must be honest and admit that we only visited here as the atrocious weather prevented us from doing other things.

It was a good decision though and I'm still astonished that there is no charge for this.

In addition to the many fascinating exhibits there is a documentary running which follows several cargo ships coming in and out of the port to load/unload.

The staff on hand were extremely knowledgeable and welcomed questions.

A great way to spend a few hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved it, went here 3 times in 5 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It has so much history and cool maritime related displays! My son really enjoyed hearing the ship captains talking to the Aerial Lift bridge attendant as the ships got closer and closer to the canal! Just a real neat place to go and it is FREE! They could charge and we would go back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A great way for me to get my "ship" fix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I like all the ships that sail the Great Lakes and have learned so much about them at the Maritime Visitor Center. Of course, the first thing I look for is the schedule for arriving/departing ships! The Maritime Center also keeps you aware of the dangers of the Great Lakes as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.