We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Boat, Bad Guide” 3 of 5 stars
Review of S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum

S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum
350 Harbor Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
218-722-7876
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 47 attractions in Duluth
Type: Ships, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located at Canal Park, this museum was once an ore boat.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Neat Boat, Bad Guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

It's really cool to explore this old ship, but the tour guides can be very hit or miss. Went once and had a great tour, the second time it was difficult to listen to the guide who was quite annoying.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    43
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Get a taste of olden days shipping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

THis is a tour for people who are mobile. Because it was a working ship, there are major accessibility issues such as climbing tall ladders. For those of you who are fit and able, don't miss an opportunity to see the inside workings of the old lakers and th cabins for the captain and his guests!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Haunted boat tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A great way to spend 30 minutes for $10! This tour is definately not for young children or for those who scare easily. The actors were great - full of energy and having a good time making noise and scaring people. The fun started even before we got to the front of the line to purchase tickets. Even though I saw the costumed characters in the line, they still managed to make me jump. There are definately some areas that are pitch black, and I was really happy that I wore flat shoes. The stairs are typical boat stairs, much like metal grating, that are designed to drain any water (full of holes that any size of heel can get lodged in). If you are in Duluth around Hallowe'en, be sure to take in the tour...it's alot of fun, and a good lead in to a great dinner in the area!
ps...definately not an "accessible" or handicapped friendly attraction

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spooner, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Haunted Ship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A staple in Duluth! We had a blast on the haunted ship Saturday night. $9 per admission with a donated can food per ticket. What a great deal to get scared out of your mind and you get to see the ship as well. The volunteers are great, well, most of them. There were a bunch of kids that looked like they should have been in bed and they didn't do much to scare you. You could tell who the actors from UMD were because they really did a great job. The tour of haunts last about 30 minutes and you go all throughout the ship. The line outside is a little bit of a wait so dress warm. They won't touch you but they will get as close as possible without touching you and they talk to you. I think it's pretty scary and it's unique to be on a haunted ship!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent, informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I knew almost nothing about the workings of the ore boats I had seen for years on Lake Superior before I took this tour. Our tour guide, Devan, made it fun and interesting. You see everything from how the crews and officers lived, to the engine room and bridge, to the surprisingly luxurious accomodations for guests. There are steep stairs and lots of walking. If you are scared of heights, be advised that the climb to the bridge and map room might be a bit unnerving. My husband uses a cane to walk, but he was able to complete the tour. We always let others go ahead of us on the stairs, and Devan was careful to wait for us before he started talking at each stop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum also viewed

 

Been to S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum to your Saves list