We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, informative tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum

S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum
350 Harbor Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
218-722-7876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 84 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Canal Park, this museum was once an ore boat.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent, informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I knew almost nothing about the workings of the ore boats I had seen for years on Lake Superior before I took this tour. Our tour guide, Devan, made it fun and interesting. You see everything from how the crews and officers lived, to the engine room and bridge, to the surprisingly luxurious accomodations for guests. There are steep stairs and lots of walking. If you are scared of heights, be advised that the climb to the bridge and map room might be a bit unnerving. My husband uses a cane to walk, but he was able to complete the tour. We always let others go ahead of us on the stairs, and Devan was careful to wait for us before he started talking at each stop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    67
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Iron ore ship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I definitely learned a lot about iron ore ships. It was a great tour. The cargo hold is off limits for October during regular tours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Tour was fun and educational. Be warned if warm out, can get very hot on tour, and there are lots of steep staircases.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I think it's worth it. Very neat to be inside an Ore Boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It was huge and the tour guide was very informative. Granted, it's old....but still very cool to hear the history of hauling ore out of Duluth and how the ship ran. Also, cool insight to what the crew did during downtime and also a tour of the living quarters, dining area, and way down in the belly of the boat!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Ship - Nice Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Pros: The ship has been nicely restored, interesting to see - price reasonable. Cons:You have to go on a tour - ours had too many people, we couldn't all get in the room the guide was talking about to hear her well or see what she was referring to. Our guide must have been new, nice enough, but she stumbled her way through a lot of what she said.I am used to many of the ships out east that you can self guide and like the ability to spend more or less time in a given area depending on interest.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum also viewed

 

Been to S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.