We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum

S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum
350 Harbor Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
218-722-7876
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 47 attractions in Duluth
Type: Ships, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located at Canal Park, this museum was once an ore boat.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very interesting tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The tour guides do a great job of making you feel what life was like on an ore ship working the great lakes. The price of admission is worth the tour.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    45
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“From the Past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Again, if you have the time this is a ncie visit - again unique to the Great Lakes. If you have the time visit the whale back in Superior across from the Paterson hoyuse/Museum in Superior. Bot ships provide a wonderful history of Great Lakes shipping, especially in bringing iron ore to the city of Duluth and farther east to the steel mills of Pitsburgh, etc. So, in two stops, the last the Irving - you have a history of Great Lakes shipping from the last of the whale backs that revolutionize the transport of bulk itesm on the lakes to the Irving which was replaced in the 1970s by the larger one thousand foot steamers. Steamers like the SS Gott replaced four smaller sized Irving class ore transporters. All the vessels like the Irving were decommissioned or sold off - many cut up in the Frazier shipyards in Superior.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent and Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a very entertaining and informative tour of a Great Lakes Freighter. The boat itself was a flagship and a showpiece of its time, and therefore has rather interesting features. The boat is in excellent condition. Our tour guide, a former sailer who sailed for the company that ran this boat, was incredibly personable and entertained our group with informative facts about sailing and lively accounts of first-hand experiences. This was one of the best tours of its type that we have taken. Highly recommended for anyone interested in history, American manufacturing and industry and the maritime arts.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“October haunted ship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

went to tour the Irwin on oct 20th for the haunted ship. definitely not for small children or people with walking disabilities but we had a blast. if you like zombies who jump out at you in pitch dark rooms....and then politely direct you, it was fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Take A Tour on the Irwin Ore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our group looked forward to this tour as we planned our vacation. It was well worth the planning and cost of the tour! Our tour guide was "Brian" who has experience on these types of vessels and provided a tremendous amount of information regarding this particular ship and personal experiences. We saw everything but the cavities which held the ore - something we specifically wanted to see. Unfortunately, they were preparing these areas for the halloween season. The cabins were beautiful - wonderful tour - glad we went and well worth the $10 per person we spent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum also viewed

 

Been to S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum to your Saves list