We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum

S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum
350 Harbor Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
218-722-7876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 84 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Canal Park, this museum was once an ore boat.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent and Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a very entertaining and informative tour of a Great Lakes Freighter. The boat itself was a flagship and a showpiece of its time, and therefore has rather interesting features. The boat is in excellent condition. Our tour guide, a former sailer who sailed for the company that ran this boat, was incredibly personable and entertained our group with informative facts about sailing and lively accounts of first-hand experiences. This was one of the best tours of its type that we have taken. Highly recommended for anyone interested in history, American manufacturing and industry and the maritime arts.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    75
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“October haunted ship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

went to tour the Irwin on oct 20th for the haunted ship. definitely not for small children or people with walking disabilities but we had a blast. if you like zombies who jump out at you in pitch dark rooms....and then politely direct you, it was fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Take A Tour on the Irwin Ore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our group looked forward to this tour as we planned our vacation. It was well worth the planning and cost of the tour! Our tour guide was "Brian" who has experience on these types of vessels and provided a tremendous amount of information regarding this particular ship and personal experiences. We saw everything but the cavities which held the ore - something we specifically wanted to see. Unfortunately, they were preparing these areas for the halloween season. The cabins were beautiful - wonderful tour - glad we went and well worth the $10 per person we spent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A tour needs more exciting items on show, as is it is quite boring, for adults and for the grown up kids. It is also overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous ship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's really fun to get a taste of what life aboard an ore boat is like. Quite amazing in every corner -- well worth the price of admission.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum also viewed

 

Been to S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S.S. William A. Irvin Ore Boat Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.