We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun afternoon trip for the family”
Review of Enger Park and Tower

16th Ave W & Skyline Drive, Duluth, MN 55811
(218) 730-4300
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 45 attractions in Duluth
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Parks
Traveler Description: Enger Park and Tower is located on top of the Skyline Ridge that run runs through Duluth. In the park, there are beautiful gardens to see and a small... more »
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    45
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Enger Park and Tower
See the most recent reviews
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon trip for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our family visits Duluth often and one of our favorite places to go in the summer or fall is Enger Tower. The view is spectacular and it is nice to sit and picnic with friends and family. The garden is also a very neat thing to see. If you enjoy the outdoors then make sure you stop by Enger Tower and Park while you are in Duluth.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

There are a few steps to go up which was a bit of a challenge for me because I'm not in shape at all, but the view from the top is fantastic, especially during the fall.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, SD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top of the tower . . . Top of Duluth, MN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We left Glensheen Mansion after a couple of hours touring the house and surrounding grounds and gardens and drove back down Superior St. west toward downtown. Next on our agenda was a drive by of the University of Minnesota Duluth which is up the hill past 8th St. just off College Street. We drove down College St. where we stopped a college student who was apparently on his way to a class. We asked him for directions to Enger Tower. Tip - don't ever try to find Enger Tower without map!
We did enjoy our our drive by the University of Minnesota and very beautiful buildings and 186 acre campus of St. Scholastica health sciences college located at the top of the hill at the edge of Chester Park. The buildings resemble a large English castle complete with towers on either end.
We were looking for Skyline Parkway which really proved to be an experience in itself. We saw a part of Duluth we didn't know existed. I can't imagine anybody living at the top of these hills and driving back and forth to work every day. In winter time I can't even imagine trying to drive up and down these hills without sliding into cross traffic.
Anyway it took us some time to find Skyline Parkway but even then we had "no" idea where to go. It took some doing and some more hill climbing to finally find Enger tower. Anyway, one must follow Skyline Parkway west toward Central Park and continue west until Hank Jensen Drive which leads up to Enger Tower and Park.
The view from the top here is extremely beautiful as this is the highest point in all Duluth and it looks over Lake Superior and the whole city of Duluth. It is an 80-foot (24 m), five-story blue stone observation tower at an elevation of 451 feet (137 m) above Lake Superior, providing panoramic views of the Twin Ports.
The city of Duluth Parks Department were working there the day we were there doing some more stone and cement work in the Park. It is quite a climb but you will enjoy the view at the end as my photos will show. So, pick a nice clear day for this event when you decide to visit Enger Tower and be sure to take your map to find this tower!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This tower is in a park on the Skyline Parkway. The view from the top is breathtaking, and so is the climb, so be prepared. My husband walks with a cane, and by taking his time he made it to the top. You get a 360 degree view from the top of Duluth.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view, fun little hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great views over Lake Superior and a quick hike to the tower make a perfect afternoon activity in Duluth. It's great to have some no cost activities in your day and the view and park are just the ticket!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enger Park and Tower also viewed

 

Been to Enger Park and Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enger Park and Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.