We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skyline Parkway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Parkway

Skyline Parkway
Duluth, MN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 47 Attractions in Duluth
Type: Scenic Drives
Attraction Details
Minneapolis Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Skyline Parkway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We drove the Eastern half of the parkway a few days ago and it is open and worth the drive up there. Duluth still makes it difficult to find the parkway with extremely small and poor signage. Duluth is very hilly and confusing for out of town drivers.Some of the Western part of the parkway is still closed. We found that we had to use extreme caution in driving Skyline Parkway due to young joggers who insist on running three abreast in the driving lane. Their callous attitude they show is reprehensible. Driving Skyline Parkway has many curves and you might not see these fools when you come around the curve. I don't know why the Duluth Police do not address this. The view has always been nothing short of spectacular.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshalltown, Iowa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Be careful of detours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This scenic drive has had so recent flood washouts and the resulting detours can be confusing. We stopped at the Thompson Hill rest area to get the map for this and the person at the desk was able to point out the detour areas and help us around them. Even so, we had to keep a sharp lookout for the signs along the way. All this aside, it is a beautiful drive. Take your time and visit all the parks along the way. They have all sorts of scenic surprises like waterfalls and gardens. And of course, the main attraction is the wonderful view of the big lake.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Beautiful overlook of the lake and the city. I drove by Enger park and Tower as well as Hawk Ridge, amazing views.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful trek through town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This sometimes hard to find road is beautiful any time of the year, but fall is the best! Our family always stops at Enger Tower (the kiddos call it the sniper tower) for some unique views of the city. Pack a picnic and make a day of it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Closed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

To drive the Skyline Parkway gives you a very scenic view of Duluth. I was very disappointed that a major portion of the Parkway is still closed. I am not sure how long it has ben closed but it seems like at least a year

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Parkway also viewed

 

Been to Skyline Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;