We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a B&B with Presence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
2316 East 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Truly a B&B with Presence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This was our 2nd stay at a B&B and we absolutely loved it! From the beautiful African Mahogany woodwork in the dinning room to the rare Birdseye Maple flooring of our suite we were swept away by this mansion. Jerry and David were gracious hosts and made us feel right at home. The breakfast was delicious and very elegant. At night the house glows with a warmth and presence that make you feel like you are in another world. There was always relaxing music playing downstairs and snacks to eat. Even though the home is 10,000 sq. ft it feels so cozy and not intimidating. I could go on and on about the Olcott House but I don't want to get to long winded, so with all the said I HIGHLY recommend this B&B!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
57
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armonk, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

When we travel we always try to stay in a B&B because we like the personal attention you get. The Olcott House lived up to our expectations. The house is located in a residential area of Duluth that was "the place to live" when the industrial barons were building their gracious homes. The Olcott house is one of these homes. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. You have a sense of total privacy and quiet. It reminded us of some wonderful B&B's we have stayed in in England. The cooked breakfast was creative, not your run of the mill breakfast, and it was served in a charming dining room. There was wine and cheese out when we arrived in the late afternoon and David, the innkeeper, was helpful with directions and ideas as to how to spend our time in Duluth. Overall, we had a great stay. We will return to the Olcott House.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Olcott House! First of all, the house was amazing. It felt as though I was stepping back in time. It's beautifully decorated and the history that the owners David & Jerry told was fascinating. The food was incredible! I felt extremely welcome and completely at home. I have been to bed and breakfasts that were so stuffy and uncomfortable that I never wanted to leave my room. That was not the case at all here. We were welcome to roam the house and enjoy the gorgeous deck as well as the beautiful landscaping. We stayed in the East Wing Suite, it was huge and the bed was so comfortable. I could not have had a better experience. I'm already asking my hubby when we get to go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, MN
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Good things first...

Food was excellent. Waitstaff was polite and capable.
Rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable.
interior of the home was nice and comfortable and furnished with nice period antiques.

Now for the bad....

We could not get in when we arrived (at approx. 6 PM) despite walking around the house twice and knocking and ringing the doorbells. We finally had to call one of the owners on the phone.

I had to fix our toilet, which would not stop running.

The water in the shower alternated between too hot and too cold and was impossible to regulate.

The light next to our bed was broken and the only way to turn it off was to unscrew the bulb.

The television is a 12" computer monitor which is like trying to watch a movie on an Ipod.

Although the Olcott House and the B&B across the street are in nice shape, adjoining properties are multi-family rentals and are starting to look a little run down. The house directly across the street had a pair of car rims in the yard and a beat up taxi was usually parked out front. While we were waiting to be let in we heard someone across the street shouting profanities at someone else.

Despite the Olcott Welcome book advising that street shoes are OK, you are asked (and advised by a sign at the door) to remove your shoes at the door so most guests are barefoot at the breakfast table (not the most appetizing thing in the world)

You are also told that the doors must be locked whenever you enter or exit (the doors are not self locking and need to be locked with a key) This, besides being inconvenient, made me further question the condition of the neighborhood.

One owner, David, was polite and answered our questions, but refused to let us look at the kitchen when we asked (we could see an antique tin ceiling and beautiful wallpaper when the door swung open and were merely curious) We never did see the other owner, Jerry, but were told he was in a bad mood because he didn't like the humidity. All in all, none of our party of four felt particularly welcome but merely tolerated.

If you like beautiful old mansions and want to pay $200 per night for the privilege of staying in one, I would recommend the Olcott House as it is a grand old house, but if you want modern amenities (whirlpool, plumbing that works, bathrooms with counter space and large mirrors, etc.) Your money would be better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Based solely on our internet research and the allure of their website, my wife and I decided to take a gamble on the Olcott house...and boy did it pay off! From the graciousness of the proprietors- David & Jerry- to the comfort & elegance of the accommodations, the Olcott House provided everything we were looking for on our vacation. The property, both inside and out, has been impeccably maintained, with particular attention paid towards preserving and celebrating the mansion's- and subsequently Duluth's- rich history.

The weather was characteristically freezing during our visit but the Olcott was always warm & cozy. In fact, although an exploration of a Duluth was our primary objective, we ended up spending quite a good amount of time within the House itself- playing the piano, reading in the parlour/den next to the fireplace, enjoying movies in our room (they have quite an expansive DVD library!) and simply appreciating the vast array of art and historical memorabilia throughout the House.

The owners were very helpful when it came to planning our daily itineraries. They had an extensive knowledge of all the outdoor activity options & directed us to some wonderful restaurants throughout the area. Who knew Duluth has so much going on?!

As for the bed-- the linens, towels, robes, sound permeation and temperature were pure comfort. A discreetly placed flat-screen (w/ cable & DVD player) and omnipresent WiFi access provided modern convenience without disrupting the historically "antique" decor.

And as for the breakfast-- the coffee, tea, snacks and food, etc. would surely excite even the most finicky of palettes.

Veterans of the B&B world in and around New Hope, PA, we'd without hesitation endorse the Olcott House as a getaway experience of the highest order. We've already planned to return this summer-- as much to pursue our burgeoning fondness for the city of Duluth as to treat ourselves to the epicurean splendor that has been nurtured and created at this wonderful Bed & Breakfast. Don't miss it!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Olcott House last February. The house is absolutely gorgeous and the owners are extremely friendly and accommodating. I felt special in our room as it was so very grand.
I look forward to staying there again. Next time you are in Duluth, stay there!!!


Christine Rosholt
Jazz vocalist and frequent visitor to Duluth

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

My Husband and I recently celebrated our one year anniversary and stayed at The Olcott Mansion. We were absolutly blown away not only because of its beauty, but by the attention to detail from the staff. From the wine and cheese in the afternoon, to the defrosting of our wedding cake, to the AMAZING breakfasts, it was more than we could have hoped for. The size of the rooms were incredible and it was so nice to have a private bath, which is rare in a Bed and Breakfast. Another detail that we thought was noteworthy, was that we were actually encouraged to use the whole house. We could play games in the lounge, play the piano if we felt so inclined, or even go through and look at the vacant suites. We strongly reccomend choosing this treasure of a Inn, and can't wait to return for Anniversary's to come!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2316 East 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A celebration of elegance, class and history…" One of Minnesota’s architectural gems! 1904 Georgian Colonial Mansion with six gorgeous, very private and very large suites. Fine antiques, gourmet candlelight breakfasts. Complimentary wine & cheese. Relax and enjoy grand luxury in an historic inn! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list