We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Olcott Inn... what an perfect weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
2316 East 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Olcott Inn... what an perfect weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I spent a beautiful Fall weekend at the Inn, and what an amazing weekend we had!
The house is just stunning upon driving up, and when you walk inside it only gets better!
We were greeted by David, who gave us a quick tour of the house.
He was more than accommodating, gave us suggestions on things to do/see in the area as well as restaurants he recommended.
David made us feel completely comfortable and right at home!
Our suite (East Wing Suite) was HUGE loved the decor and loved it was two separate rooms- you had lots of space to spread out!
We really enjoyed the house at night- after returning from Dinner we would sit in the parlor with a bottle of wine, and look through all the great books as well as all the beautiful antiques and pictures they have around the home. It’s like stepping back in time!
Breakfast is at 9am~ it is served at a beautiful candle light table on the first floor of the house.
Breakfast was outstanding especially the almond cream cheese stuffed French toast -it was delish! Coffee was wonderful- there is also a variety of hot teas with beautiful assorted tea cups.
We also cannot say enough about the beauty of this area in MN, there are many things to do- and we really enjoyed Gooseberry Falls (stunning) and Split Rock Lighthouse.
Overall the experience we had at Olcott Inn was just perfect, and we will always remember it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
61
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Olcott House for a wedding we were attending in Duluth this weekend. Since neither of us has stayed at a B&B before, we were not really sure what to expect. We read several reviews of B&Bs in Duluth and decided to book the Olcott house several months ago. We arrived and were greeted by the owner who gave us a tour of the house. We literally felt like royalty. The house is in divine condition with beautiful decor and amenities including wine/snacks in the evening, breakfast in the morning, sitting rooms, book and DVD collection, daily newspaper, and a "tour center" with information about the the town, a wrap-around porch, and a relaxing garden.

We were shown to our room, which like the rest of the house, was gorgeous and well-kept. From the four poster bed to the wood floors, to the furnishings, everything was like a dream. The room was outfitted with comfortable furniture, books, fresh filtered water in a crystal decanter, plush robes, fireplace, tv, dvd player (huge collection of dvds in the library downstairs), towels, history of the house book, and of course lots of space.

Although I am not an expert on B&Bs by any means, I will definitely sing the praises of the Olcott house. We felt taken care of but by no means did we feel like we were in a house with other people. Although the house was booked for the weekend, we did not see anyone except at breakfast. We felt like we had the entire house to ourselves. Thank you for allowing us to take a trip through history and live as kings. We will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

From the beautifully decorated main floor to the outstanding breakfasts to the private, comfortable rooms, the Olcott House delivers on every front. David is the consummate host--personable yet keenly aware of his guests' needs. His recommendations on things to do in and around Duluth as well as his restaurant suggestions made our visit to the area that much better. Our stay was, without question, one of the highlights of our summer. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The East Wing Suite was private yet spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful setting in Duluth...loved the wine hour on the porch and cream cheese stuffed French toast in the morning...we stayed in the Carriage House....so private! David is a great host and the neighborhood is wonderful for a morning walk

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We went to stay over the 4th of July weekend. It felt like we were in Europe with Old world charm but much better food and accomodations. Each afternoon we had wine and cheese and visited with other guests on the side veranda. David is an amazing host!! I loved the decor because it felt as if belonged in the house giving it more of a period feel. The rooms are spacious and the bed was really comfortable. The neighborhood walking tour cannot be beat. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

As s Brit, I have never had such a warm welcome at any place I have ever visited. The building and surrounds are stunning. The is furnished in the best taste with fabulous antiques. Our 2 day stay is so memorable with friendly but discrete service. Nothing was ever too much. The place is spotless with nothing out of place. We got great advice on where to visit and eat locally. We really enjoyed our meal at The Scenic and Sarah's table. Breakfast was something as good as a five star hotel with a vegetarian option. Our room was fabulous with a beautiful bathroom. Subtle classical music pervaded the establishment. In the evening cheese fruit, soft drinks and wine were complimentary. Would I visit again. OH YES!!!!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Necedah, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Lake Superior room. This room had a gas fireplace, queen size bed, small couch, comfortable sitting chair, and plenty of room left over. There was also an enclosed porch with a round table and two chairs. You could also go outside from this room to a small outdoor porch that had two chairs. The bathroom had a tub with a shower, cedar lined closet and robes for your use. They had Bee Kind bath products for our use, lovely. There are no whirlpool tubs in the main house. We have stayed in many B&B's that have whirlpools and prefer to stay in homes that do not have these as we find it sounds like a jet plane taking off when people are using them. So, this B&B was very quiet and peaceful. Wine and cheese was served at 5pm. I bring my own wine however, I heard comments from other guests that the wine was guite good. Every room was booked when we stayed so this was a great time to meet people. Everyone seemed to love the wine, cheese and fruit. Breakfast was at 9 am in the main dining room. They set a pretty table, charming with silver napkin rings, candles and bone china cups and saucers. The coffee was fair trade, hot and plentiful. The breakfasts are great, I loved the stuffed French toast and warm syrup. They had Torani syrups for your coffee and also a large tea selection. The common rooms were comfortable and impressive. Please see their web site for pictures. Like most B&B' s we have visited, they had you remove your shoes at the door. I love walking around in my stocking feet, so homey. Also, the carpets are much cleaner, I think, at B&B's where this is the practice. The large porch on the first floor is the place to sit, sip wine and talk in the evening. I could go on, but just want to say thank- you to the owners. Oh, the neighborhood is so beautiful. Many of the homes are 100 year old mansions. They have a book that describes the mansions in the area, a great guide for a walking tour of the area.

Room Tip: We were invited into the Lester River Suite, loved that room too, especially the walk in closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2316 East 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A celebration of elegance, class and history…" One of Minnesota’s architectural gems! 1904 Georgian Colonial Mansion with six gorgeous, very private and very large suites. Fine antiques, gourmet candlelight breakfasts. Complimentary wine & cheese. Relax and enjoy grand luxury in an historic inn! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.