We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Staff and Environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
2316 East 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Welcoming Staff and Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking to get away from the cities for a weekend, and decided to take a trip to Duluth. A deal came up for the Olcott House B&B, so we decided to give it a try; I am so glad that we did! David, one of the Olcott House caretakers, was so weloming when we arrived. He was so eager to share with us some tips on places to grab dinner, sights to see, as well as trails to hike. The house itself was gorgeous and so peaceful. The breakfast both days was wonderful, and we definitely took advantage of the wine and cheese hour! In between seeing the sights we had some down time, and we were able to use the DVD library and games- both of which had good selections as well, if you're planning on relaxing in the house during your stay. Great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
61
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

.My girlfriend and I spent last weekend at the Olcott House and were not disappointed one bit. Let me start by saying you will be amazed by the size and the beauty of the home when you first drive up, it is truly a mansion. We were greeted promptly when we walked in by David, and shown around the property, told about good places to eat in the area, and then shown to our room. The room was great; it had a nice bed, huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi, and a fireplace. We had absolutely no complaints about the room. We were on the first floor (the Olcott Suite) so we worried at first that we would hear people walking around, or going up and down the stairs, this was a non-issue. The room was very quiet and we really never heard anyone else. We took advantage of both the complimentary breakfast and the wine and cheese hour. Both were very good. Neither of us had ever stayed in a B&B before and we were both very satisfied that we tried it. If you have any questions about where to eat, or what to do in Duluth ask David. He was super friendly and very knowledgeable about the area.

Bottom-line: This is a great property, with friendly staff, and tons of history. If you're ever looking for a place to stay in Duluth try this place out. 5/5

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My best friend and I had been talking about taking a couple nights away to reconnect with each other. As with most people, life was getting busy and we both wanted a quiet retreat where we could relax and catch up. We found the Olcott House and both thought it looked like the perfect place for this to take place - and we were right.

As we pulled up, we were both taken aback by how beautiful the house looks. Upon entering, things got even better. We were greeted by David and welcomed into a home where it was instantly evident the attention to detail was first rate. Everything looked meticulously pristine and we both felt a sense of calm take over us.

David showed us around the main floor and shared some of the house's history with us. He then brought us up to our suite for the next two nights (the Lake Superior Suite) and we knew instantly we were going to enjoy the room. It felt comfortable and relaxing - exactly what we wanted. The room was large enough for a four-poster queen sized bed and sitting area (plus room to spare). It also has a enclosed porch that, while chilly at the beginning of April, was warm enough for us to spend some time out there during the day. The bathroom was great, too - much larger than either of us anticipated.

David provided us with ample suggestions for dinner that evening. We decided to take one of his recommendations and ate at Black Woods Grill & Bar - it was excellent.

Breakfast both days was ready at 9am and it was fabulous. Everything was fresh, very well prepared, and nicely presented. Coffee and tea were both ready well before breakfast. There was a husband and wife staying at the house the same nights we were there and breakfast was a great opportunity to converse with them.

David couldn't have been more perfectly engaged with us. He interacted with us and we had some great conversations with him. However, he also respected our privacy and allowed us to do exactly what we set out to do: RELAX.

This truly was a great experience for us! So great that I reserved two night next month for my partner and I as we celebrate our anniversary.

We'd definitely highly recommend the Olcott House!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend honeymoon at the Olcott House. It was perfect! The house is beautiful, the food is delicious, and the hospitality is second to none. We loved the way they focused on the little details- the bath towels and robes were fluffy and soft, the bed was amazingly comfortable, and the wine hour was superb. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAGINAW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our 35th anniversary was spent at this lovely B&B in Duluth. Exactly what we needed. David was a gracious host! We give this lovely mansion a 5 rating. Our room, the eggs benedict, wine and cheese, library full of history and of course Duluth! Thank you.

Room Tip: We were on the thrifty plan and the Olcott suite was perfect for us. Quiet, first floor with a soak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay here on a recent overnight in Duluth. We drove up at night to the stately mansion that was lit up and snow-covered. We have often seen these types of homes from the outside, but have never had the opportunity to stay in one. The decor was very tasteful (not overly frilly) and we enjoyed a suite with a sitting room complete with fireplace, and an adjoining bedroom with king-sized poster bed and bathroom with vintage fixtures. Our host was friendly and gave us an excellent restaurant suggestion for dinner. In the morning we were treated to a tasty breakfast of a yogurt parfait, waffle and sausage. We greatly enjoyed the other couple we had breakfast with, and we lingered for 2 hours of conversation with them.

Our only negative as that there was no channel directory for the satellite TV in the bedroom (at least we couldn't find it). It would be a nice addition to add that to the rooms. If you have always wanted to stay in an elegant mansion, this is the one for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Olcott in July on our first trip to Duluth and the Northshore. The inn is incredibly beautiful and well kept. Our innkeeper was super friendly and greeted us, offered tips, and even just hung around to chat. The breakfasts were great and there was plenty of options for sitting. We got to meet fellow innkeepers who helped us plan our trip. The B&B is a drive from Canal Park, but it is well worth it and the drive is easy. This is a great destination to see the Northshore. 35 runs right down the hill right to the highway to the Northshore. We picked Duluth off a map as part of our trip to every state in the Union and we could not have been more pleased (and we're Michiganders so we grew up on the Great Lakes)! I hope we can return some day to this beautiful city on Lake Superior.

Room Tip: Our room comprised three separate rooms and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2316 East 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A celebration of elegance, class and history…" One of Minnesota’s architectural gems! 1904 Georgian Colonial Mansion with six gorgeous, very private and very large suites. Fine antiques, gourmet candlelight breakfasts. Complimentary wine & cheese. Relax and enjoy grand luxury in an historic inn! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.