We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
2316 East 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay here on a recent overnight in Duluth. We drove up at night to the stately mansion that was lit up and snow-covered. We have often seen these types of homes from the outside, but have never had the opportunity to stay in one. The decor was very tasteful (not overly frilly) and we enjoyed a suite with a sitting room complete with fireplace, and an adjoining bedroom with king-sized poster bed and bathroom with vintage fixtures. Our host was friendly and gave us an excellent restaurant suggestion for dinner. In the morning we were treated to a tasty breakfast of a yogurt parfait, waffle and sausage. We greatly enjoyed the other couple we had breakfast with, and we lingered for 2 hours of conversation with them.

Our only negative as that there was no channel directory for the satellite TV in the bedroom (at least we couldn't find it). It would be a nice addition to add that to the rooms. If you have always wanted to stay in an elegant mansion, this is the one for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
61
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Olcott in July on our first trip to Duluth and the Northshore. The inn is incredibly beautiful and well kept. Our innkeeper was super friendly and greeted us, offered tips, and even just hung around to chat. The breakfasts were great and there was plenty of options for sitting. We got to meet fellow innkeepers who helped us plan our trip. The B&B is a drive from Canal Park, but it is well worth it and the drive is easy. This is a great destination to see the Northshore. 35 runs right down the hill right to the highway to the Northshore. We picked Duluth off a map as part of our trip to every state in the Union and we could not have been more pleased (and we're Michiganders so we grew up on the Great Lakes)! I hope we can return some day to this beautiful city on Lake Superior.

Room Tip: Our room comprised three separate rooms and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cissna Park, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had a great stay on our last of 7 days in Minnesota. Accommodations, service, staff - all top notch. Had great weather for August and found it very relaxing to read for a couple of hours on cool front porch. They provide evening wine and snacks. They have an interesting selection of books and also several daily newspapers. We had a fine meal in the morning that got us ready for a long trip back to Illinois.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The B&B is quiet and peaceful. The grounds still retain their elegance and the whole B&B calls you to sit and relax. Meals are wonderful. The inn is clean and in good repair. Dave and Jerry share their home with care and planning. You are welcomed with wine and cheese upon arrival. Coffee greets you at 8am sharp.

Room Tip: No clear view of Lake Superior but close to Leif Erickson park. Wonderful views of the neighborhood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was lucky to get time away from work and very excited to book another stay at my favorite place to stay.
I love being at the Olcott House when I am visiting friends in Duluth!
As an avid local history buff I was impressed with the Owner's knowledge of the Duluth area and their suggestions about what to see along the north shore.
The architecture of house is beautiful and the rooms are really cozy!
I hope to stay again when the leaves are changing colors!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Story City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Olcott House approximately two weeks after the flooding in Duluth. If we hadn't have heard about the flood from the news we would have never known there was one.

The Olcott House is a magnificent place to stay in Duluth. It is located in an area with many stately and historic homes and minutes away from anywhere you want to be. David is a very engaging host and attentive to your needs. He made us feel welcomed during our stay and the breakfast was simply delicious. He made great suggestions on restaurants and things to see and do.

From sitting on the porch reading the paper in the morning with a great cup of coffee, to visiting with David and other guests, to watching a movie (from their collection) at night, or to simply enjoy the elegant accomodations - we enthusiastically recommend the Olcott House for anyone looking for a unique and memorable experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a two day living social package that I bought online. Beautiful house gives you the feeling of royalty. It's close to all the tourist spots. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was deliciouse!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2316 East 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A celebration of elegance, class and history…" One of Minnesota’s architectural gems! 1904 Georgian Colonial Mansion with six gorgeous, very private and very large suites. Fine antiques, gourmet candlelight breakfasts. Complimentary wine & cheese. Relax and enjoy grand luxury in an historic inn! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.