We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
2316 East 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a two day living social package that I bought online. Beautiful house gives you the feeling of royalty. It's close to all the tourist spots. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was deliciouse!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
61
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Olcott House was an absolutely wonderful place to stay. It is in a beautiful area of Duluth with many older homes. The house itself is well maintained. The attention to detail was wonderful. I loved all the knick knacks and books that reflected Duluth's history.

We stayed in the Lake Superior Suite which was beautiful. It was nice to have the private balcony to drink our coffee on even on a chilly Duluth morning. The fireplace helped keep us cozy.

The afternoon wine and cheese was a great wind down from our busy day before heading to dinner. The place was so nice it was kind of hard to leave. Tons of games, DVDs and books to entertain us. It was just peaceful to hang at the B & B.

Breakfast was so delicious. The first morning we had a apple crisp yogurt parfait and an egg strata. The second was cream cheese stuffed french toast and ham. The dining room itself just gorgeous. Beautiful china and candlesticks on the tables,

David was a great host. He recommended many great restaurants in Duluth for dinners. He was very conscientious when it came to engaging with the guests but it was great to hear his and Jerry's story.

I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We found our host to be very pleasant and engaging. We had visited about 5 years ago and found the same high standards. We were very pleasantly surprised when he remembered us! We'll return and well before another five years.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here for a break away from daily life (and kids!). We loved it here and will be back! The house is so beautiful and of all the B&B's we have stayed in, the owners took great care to put together a fantastic book explaining the history of the house and what each room was originally used for. It was clean, classy and the breakfasts/coffee was amazing! David and Jerry were so kind. David showed us the best places to go, eat etc. and we went to the New Scenic Cafe on his advice-it is now our favorite restaurant in the north! The library was my favorite (great DVD selection too) soothing classical music plays at all times highlighting the ambience of the house. The owners are doing a fantastic job and we missed being there as soon as we drove away! We are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: The Olcott room we stayed in was located on the main floor and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Olcott House for Valentine's Day. It was MARVELOUS! Our spacious room, The Olcott Suite, was romantic yet refined. The fabulous eggs benedict, our second course, were served with a side of the best hash browns I've ever tasted. The Olcott House is absolutely gorgeous - the owners have great taste. Simply stated, I can't imagine a better place to stay in all of Duluth.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be very unique. Make sure to research which one fits your needs best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I frequently stay at Bed and Breakfasts around the country, but anytime we're remotely close to Duluth, it will be at the Olcott House. The house itself is historic and charming, but that is not the half of it. This is perhaps the most charming B&B we've stayed in, from the set-up of the rooms to the decor, and the house holds many historic photographs, pictures, and other memorabilia from the early twentieth century. There is a piano room, and music plays downstairs constantly. It is very peaceful. We found ourselves wanting to just hang around the Bed and Breakfast because there was so much to do there (read through the books, play games, watch the DVDs) and there was so much charm. But the real charm is in the hosts, David and Jerry, who are very attentive, conscientious, and helpful. They know the area and its attractions and restaurants very well, and really make you feel "at home" and welcome. At check-in time, there is wine and cheese, and there is always fresh water in the rooms.

A couple of bonuses: Breakfast is extraordinarily good. Another bonus is the people you find here. Each time we've been to the Olcott House, we've ended up meeting really interesting guests and having great conversations.

This is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had a wonderful mini-break in this lovely B&B. It's an impressive 1904 mansion lovingly decorated in period style, so sipping wine in the parlour or reading the paper in the breakfast room felt like stepping into another world. Our room (Olcott Room) was decked out in the same style, large, with a four-poster bed and settee. Slight concession to modernity apparent in lovely bathroom, (smallish) TV, DVD player and wifi (and can I just say that the DVD collection is pretty exceptional). David and Gerry are warm and hospitable without being intrusive, with great advice about places to eat out. Breakfast was excellent both days, and the wine and cheese in the evenings was a nice touch. On the whole a perfect getaway.

Room Tip: The Olcott Room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2316 East 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A celebration of elegance, class and history…" One of Minnesota’s architectural gems! 1904 Georgian Colonial Mansion with six gorgeous, very private and very large suites. Fine antiques, gourmet candlelight breakfasts. Complimentary wine & cheese. Relax and enjoy grand luxury in an historic inn! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.