We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ellery House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ellery House
Save Saved
You added The Ellery House to your Saves list
28 South 21st Avenue East, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Stanley, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the smallest,cheapest room they offer and it was more than adequate. The hosts are very interactive- even sat down with us at the breakfast table. The breakfasts were fabulous as was the conversation with the guests and hosts. We always enjoy strolling along the neighborhoods in Duluth, amongst all the mansions, when we stay at B and Bs there. We will definitely try to stay at the Ellery House again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a bed and breakfast with charming owners, great breakfasts - but lacking in space and tiny bathrooms with just toilet and shower. The sink is outside in the room. The mattress had dents where people had slept - not exactly comfy! I love pets, but would never allow a cat to jump on the table where people are eating breakfast. It is a cat - not a person..... and I'm allergic! Also no TV and still had Christmas decorations on the fireplace mantle. A lot to be desired in antiques and decor!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We loved everything about Ellery House. The rooms were beautifully decorated and had everything we needed; the bed was comfortable; Jim was a really great host giving us great food and sightseeing tips; and the breakfasts, wow! Without doubt some of the best breakfasts I've ever had everywhere. I mean homemade muffins featuring rhubarb grown in the garden? Come on! We stayed at the beginning of a three-week road trip around the Great Lakes and this was our favourite place hands-down - and by no-means the most expensive. We loved Duluth and adored Ellery House. I hope we can return one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

After being all over Europe and North America, this is by far one of the best trips we have taken. We stayed in the Daisy suite and instantly fell in love with its charm. The bed was wonderful, and the bathroom was to die for.
We also fully enjoyed the company of Jim, and their charming cat, Lena.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a bed and breakfast that is worth every penny. The owners live on the property but the guests (there are three bedrooms) have the run of the lovely Victorian house to themselves. THis includes access to sherry, port, home-made cookies and a range of teas and coffees 24/7. Breakfast was delicious--a fruit plate and a baked French toast concoction with cream cheese that was to die for plus bacon. Best of all are the owners themselves. Helpful, friendly and good company. Beds were very comfortable and the owners have tried to match the furnishings to the 19th cen decor of the house. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had the smallest and cheapest room in the house and it was wonderful with ensuite bathroom. We t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent one night here on our way up to Grand Marias. The location was great for our use. We would have liked to find a comfortable place to not either in our room or in the loving room, but the seating was not comfortable. However, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was awesome. The display was great and quantity of fruit was more than we could eat. The egg bake and strawberry rhubard muffins were great! Very nice management!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kunderwood01
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful Victorian home with friendly hosts greeted us after a week of camping. The luxurious bed and clawfoot tub were just what we needed after roughing it;) There was free use of their butler pantry that was stocked with tea, coffee and cappuccino. The breakfast was the highlight; stuffed French toast, bacon and beverages of our choice. We will absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ellery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellery House

Address: 28 South 21st Avenue East, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ellery House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.