We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ellery House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ellery House
Save
You added The Ellery House to your Saves list
28 South 21st Avenue East, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice owner. Tasty breakfast. Tasty snacks. Comfy bed. Good location. The owner made everyone feel very welcome. Really enjoyed the sherry, port, tea, espresso machine, cookies and brownies. Very relaxing. My only complaint was that it was hard to get ouf of bed in the morning because the bed was so comfy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A must stay in Duluth! We loved the property, breakfast, room and hospitality. Duluth itself is worth a stop, a beautiful respite from the Twin Cities or on the way up the North Shore. And the Ellery House is the place to stay, no question.

Room Tip: Upstairs front is lovely with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I finished up a trip to the Duluth area with a one night stay at the Ellery house in Duluth. Our room was lovely and after I lugged my own feather pillows up to the room I felt a little silly because we had a total of 6 pillows already waiting for us on the bed. Our room also had a claw foot tub outfitted with a shower as well as an in room fridge, CD player with CD's, wine glasses on the dresser as well as a cork screw. There was NO TV which was actually a nice thing. We did have access to internet. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. It started out with a beautiful fruit plate arranged by our host. We also had a french toast bake, bacon and a variety of juices and other things to drink. Most importantly, the friendliness and helpfulness of our host was appreciated. Jim suggested a wonderful restaurant that was just right for the last night of our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We were generally pleased with our stay at Ellery. We've stayed at many B&Bs in cities around the world, so for better or worse, our review of Ellery is colored by other B&Bs we've stayed in.
We liked the neighborhood, green & leafy, gently sloping up from the lake. We had no problems with street noise, but we're sound sleepers so may not be the best judge on this point. Our room was "Lilla", queen bed was high and comfortable with quality pillows and linen.  Claw foot tub with shower. Sink was in the bedroom which turned out to be convenient.  Pretty blue & white floral wallpaper, I felt like I was sleeping in a Delft teapot. AC & ceiling fan. Outside temp was mild, so we shut off the AC, opened the windows and used the ceiling fan all night. Very comfortable.
PLUSES:
*Jim is very friendly, giving us driving directions when we arrived, tips and instructions, served breakfast.
*Breakfast was delicious, baked French toast & bacon, baked ham & eggs, homemade strawberry rhubarb muffins, coffee & tea, and an artistically presented fruit plate that looked like a tropical bird (Jim's handiwork).
*Coffee, tea, espresso, latte service all day, nuts & chocolates, with cookies in the evening, plus fresh coffee service on the 2nd floor landing in the morning.
*Small vases of fresh flowers all over the house, it's the little touches that count.
MINUSES:
*The living and dining rooms are a little run down, feels more like a boarding house than a private home. 
*Garden, while green in the summer, could use some color and landscaping TLC.
*"Lilla" room lacks a closet. Not a problem for us as we travel with casual clothes only, but take note if you have more formal clothes that need hanging.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Me and my gilrfriend stayed here a weekend in 2006. This is by far the most memorable lodging we have ever stayed in. The owners were very friendly, generous and showed great hospitality. We would definitly reccomend it to anyone going to Duluth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Ellery House Bed and Breakfast in Duluth. We stayed in the Thomas Wahl Room which has a beautiful view of Lake Superior from the seating area in the room’s bay window. During the summer, the lake wouldn’t be visible, but a beautiful canopy of trees would be lovely as well. The room’s corner fireplace is very romantic.

My husband has a herniated disc and he said the bed was perfect. The furniture throughout the B&B consists of beautiful antiques, all which coordinate beautifully with the natural woodwork in this architectural gem.

The breakfasts are unbelievably wonderful. I have probably stayed in 15 different B&Bs, and the breakfasts here were the best. The fresh fruit was wonderful quality, and beautifully presented. The egg dishes were fabulous, and the raspberry muffins with a light lemon glaze were outstanding.

The snacks and beverages provided here is a very nice feature. There is an espresso/latte machine which looked quite fun- too bad I don’t drink coffee. There was Port and Sherry wine, also hot water for tea, or chocolate. There are snacks as well--fabulous chocolate chip cookies that are made daily, also nuts and salty snack mix.

The hosts Jim and Joan were so helpful. I have gone to Duluth for years, and Jim pointed us to small restaurants with great food that I had never heard of. With the absence of snow for skiing, he gave us good ideas for other things to do. His charming conversation made us feel like we had been friends for years.

I highly recommend the Ellery House B&B

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here a few years ago and stayed in the Daisy Suite which is a great room. Most people have already said how helpful the owners are which is true. It is a truely beautiful house and the amenities are great. Lots of games, books, etc. 2 things I would've liked to know ahead of time so I will share these with you. One great thing to me is that at the time when we stayed there, the owners spent the night outside the house. For some they may like someone to be there at all times but I preferred it that they were gone - less noise. That brings me to the reason for the 4 instead of 5 rating. This house is along a main road on a hill. So because of that there is always traffic noise since everyone has to rev the engine to get up the hill. It slowed down greatly after midnight but there is always the person without a muffler that would wake us up. We were there in the fall with no leaves so perhaps it is less noisy in the summer and was also a Saturday night but certainly we could hear it from the Daisy Suite all night. There is nothing the owners can do about this but thought people should know.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.2 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellery House

Address: 28 South 21st Avenue East, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ellery House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.