We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Host, Comfy bed, Affordable Rates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ellery House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ellery House
Save Saved
You added The Ellery House to your Saves list
28 South 21st Avenue East, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Gracious Host, Comfy bed, Affordable Rates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Ellery House Bed and Breakfast in Duluth. We stayed in the Thomas Wahl Room which has a beautiful view of Lake Superior from the seating area in the room’s bay window. During the summer, the lake wouldn’t be visible, but a beautiful canopy of trees would be lovely as well. The room’s corner fireplace is very romantic.

My husband has a herniated disc and he said the bed was perfect. The furniture throughout the B&B consists of beautiful antiques, all which coordinate beautifully with the natural woodwork in this architectural gem.

The breakfasts are unbelievably wonderful. I have probably stayed in 15 different B&Bs, and the breakfasts here were the best. The fresh fruit was wonderful quality, and beautifully presented. The egg dishes were fabulous, and the raspberry muffins with a light lemon glaze were outstanding.

The snacks and beverages provided here is a very nice feature. There is an espresso/latte machine which looked quite fun- too bad I don’t drink coffee. There was Port and Sherry wine, also hot water for tea, or chocolate. There are snacks as well--fabulous chocolate chip cookies that are made daily, also nuts and salty snack mix.

The hosts Jim and Joan were so helpful. I have gone to Duluth for years, and Jim pointed us to small restaurants with great food that I had never heard of. With the absence of snow for skiing, he gave us good ideas for other things to do. His charming conversation made us feel like we had been friends for years.

I highly recommend the Ellery House B&B

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here a few years ago and stayed in the Daisy Suite which is a great room. Most people have already said how helpful the owners are which is true. It is a truely beautiful house and the amenities are great. Lots of games, books, etc. 2 things I would've liked to know ahead of time so I will share these with you. One great thing to me is that at the time when we stayed there, the owners spent the night outside the house. For some they may like someone to be there at all times but I preferred it that they were gone - less noise. That brings me to the reason for the 4 instead of 5 rating. This house is along a main road on a hill. So because of that there is always traffic noise since everyone has to rev the engine to get up the hill. It slowed down greatly after midnight but there is always the person without a muffler that would wake us up. We were there in the fall with no leaves so perhaps it is less noisy in the summer and was also a Saturday night but certainly we could hear it from the Daisy Suite all night. There is nothing the owners can do about this but thought people should know.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We just spent a lovely 2 nights in the Daisy Suite after Thanksgiving 2011. This was our second time to the Ellery House, the first was about 10 years ago. Not much has changed, but that's not a bad thing. I chose the Daisy Suite because we have been to Duluth so many times that I knew we'd want to spend time enjoying our rooms more than seeing the sights.

The suite of rooms were nice and clean and welcoming. The bath was quite large with a shower and a deep clawfoot tub with lovely leaded glass above. Cozy luxurious robes were also provided. We spent some time lounging on the day bed in the sun porch, playing games, reading and enjoying the ambiance. The bed was soft and comfortable and we had plenty of blankets to keep warm. You can see the lake from the sun porch especially because the leaves are off the tress.

The breakfast was excellent, more fresh fruit than we could eat each morning, all was delicious and filing. There was a very nice espresso machine that you could use at any time of day and a lot of tea choices, fresh baked cookies and snacks. Plenty of creature comforts to enjoy.

Jim and Joan were excellent hosts and made us feel welcome and cared for. Everyone I know that has stayed at the Ellery House has enjoyed it!

Room Tip: If you just want a sleeping room and good breakfast, try the Thomas Lake or Lila's room. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Tastefully restored home with nice amenities - very warm, clean, and especially welcoming. Perfectly located - close to Superior Street, Canal Park, access to trails, the scenic road (61), etc. Jim received us and provided exceptional suggestions. Without being overbearing or intrusive, Jim was a great host. We enjoyed the privacy of the facilities and the fabulous breakfast - fresh fruits, freshly prepared warm dishes (eggs, bacon, etc.) and a wide-range of beverages (evening and morning). We prefer B&B's and this is a quintessential winner. Great value. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This B&B exceeded our expectations! Jim is probably one of the most kind people I have ever met and the hospitality there is just incredible. Our room was wonderful. Since we went later in the year (november) there were no leaves on the trees so we had a great view of the Lake. It's very close to everything you need to get to in Duluth and the food is absolutely mouthwatering. There is no way you could not fall in love with this place. We will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I was beginning graduate school in Duluth and stayed at the Ellery for 3 trips, for a total of 9 nights, while looking for a permanent place to rent in Duluth! Jim & Joan are the most knowledgable hosts one could ask for. They seem to know every detail of the area and are most gracious as well.

Breakfast was superb every morning. Not only does the food taste outstanding, but it is presented beautiful as well. The rooms are comfortable and decorated period classly.

Highly recommend staying at The Ellery House

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My DH and I stayed at Ellery House B & B September 25 & 26, 2011. This B & B is an 1890's Victorian with beautiful woodwork and decor and although it doesn't have the shine and polish of a newly renovated B & B you will not find a more friendly or welcoming host and hostess than Jim and Joan. Jim was gregarious and friendly and never to busy to engage us in lively conversation. I have stayed at many B & B's across the country but I have never encountered a host as friendly and welcoming as Jim. The breakfasts were delicious and filling and the homemade chocolate chip cookies were a wonderful treat at the end of our day. We stayed in the Ellery Suite, a two room corner suite, which had a very comfortable bed and plenty of space. I would recommend this B & B to anyone wanting to spend some time in Duluth, MN or on the North Shore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ellery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellery House

Address: 28 South 21st Avenue East, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ellery House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.